In God We Live And Move And Have Our Being

Sometimes I feel very connected to God.  I have a really strong sense of divine presence in my life.  At times like this, I believe that God is with me and in me and all around me.  I am secure and worry-free and peaceful.  One of Dr. Norman Vincent Peale’s Thought Conditioners sums up my attitude when I am experiencing God as being very close to me.

In God we live and move and have our being. —Acts 17:28

This short sentence rings true to me when I am noticing divine grace and beauty all around me.  It seems like God is water and I am a small fish swimming in that water.  The water is everywhere.  It surrounds me.  I breathe it and I move in it and it makes me who I am.  I cannot separate myself from it.  I am totally immersed in the love and power and joy of God.

There are times when I become less aware of God’s presence in this way.  I close my eyes to the beauty around me.  I wonder whether divine love is available to me.  At times like this, I need this little scripture more than ever.  I repeat it while I breathe very slowly.  It becomes a meditation.  These few words have power to remind me of who I am and what my relationship with God is.  They return me to swimming in the water of God’s love.

In God we live and move and have our being.  No matter what may happen.  No matter what I may come up against.  Nothing can change the fact that divine love surrounds me and envelopes me and fills me and enlivens me.  I may sometimes forget.  I may sometimes close my eyes to the truth of it.  But God never forgets me.  Like the water for the fish, God gives me life.

One thought on “In God We Live And Move And Have Our Being

Leave a Reply

