Blind Photography

A year or so ago, as my vision problems began to spiral, I ran to the internet for information.  I traveled from website to website, looking at everything from medical information to technological advances to personal stories of living with low vision.  In my surfing, I saw some information on a group of blind (and visually impaired)  photographers.  Interesting, but not what I was looking for, so I passed right by.  Two recent changes have brought me into contact with this wonderful group.  First, I am learning to use Photoshop at work.  Even on my worst-vision days, I can do anything on the computer if I make the image big enough.  Second, my husband bought me a digital “point and shoot” camera.  I took it out on journeys with me a couple of times, but quickly became frustrated because I could not really see what I was doing as I was setting up shots.  Since I had begun to learn Photoshop, I thought that I might be able to make something beautiful out of some of them.  With the inspiration of the blindphotographers website, I began to create a digital world where I can see the beauty that I can no longer see in the “real” natural world.

Here is an example of the wonders of Photoshop.  I took this photo in our front yard on a sunny day.

The sun was bright and the glare made my “sparkles” so intense that all I could see through the viewfinder was a blur of lavender that I knew were crocuses.  I could not compose at all, just literally point and shoot.  When I opened the picture in Photoshop, I was really disappointed.  Still, I made it really large and started looking around for a usable image within the photo.  I found a composition that I thought was interesting and played around with it to turn it into this:

Voila!  I knew in my heart that there was beauty in that group of crocuses and, even though I could not “see” it, I feel great about being able to find and see it through digital photography.

At the bottom of the page, you will find links to my photos and to the blindphotographers website.

7 thoughts on “Blind Photography

  1. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « AccessTech News

  2. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The BAT Channel

  3. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The Blind Buzz

  4. Hello there,

    The problem of bright light on the LCD sceen affects many people. Sunglasses may not help as many are polarising and blackout the screen.

    Go to a major photo store and look for things to shade the LCD on the back of your point-n-shoot. There is one type that sticks to the back of your camera and folds out a sun-shade. They look like part of the camera. Another type is an eyepiece that fits over the LCD like a loup.

    Here in Houston, I go to The Camera Exchange and the Camera Co-Op. Both are large comprehensive non-chain retail shops. I would hope that Ritz or Wolf would also hjave something.

    Best wishes,

    Drew Bedo
    http://www.quietlightphoto.com

    • Thanks for the info. The problem sometimes is really bigger than not being able to see the LCD screen. For this photo, I actually couldn’t make out the scene in front of me. I knew that there were a lot of crocuses, so I just shot blind and hoped for the best. I think that there are times that a shade would work, so I will look for one, maybe online since camera stores are a bit intimidating. Thanks again.

  5. Pingback: Blind Photography @ Losing Vision Gaining Insight | Blind Photographers

Leave a Reply

