Movie Night

Last night, my husband and I went to see a movie with our son.  We sat near the front of the theater, so that the screen filled my range of vision.  I was able to see the movie perfectly.  Somehow, watching a movie on that big screen allowed all my vision problems to go away for a couple of hours.  My eyes seemed to fill in the blind spots I usually have.  The “sparkling” was gone.  The blurriness wasn’t noticeable.  During the movie, I did not think about my vision problems at all.  It was the first time I was able to escape my low vision life in weeks.  I felt normal, just a regular person going to the movies.  Hooray!

It’s funny that feeling normal is unusual for me now.  I spend so much time thinking about my vision and overcoming my vision problems and compensating for visual difficulties and trying to identify new visual phenomena that this has become my new “normal.”  I accept this and am working to make a good life for myself in this low vision world.  As I let go of old activities that I can no longer accomplish, I am looking for new activities to fill the void.  I love the freedom of “blind” photography, being able to see in a photo the world I can no longer see clearly with my eyes.  Also, this blog is a great way for me to explore my thoughts and feelings about transitioning to low vision living.  I am on the lookout for other delightful activities I will find as I travel this path.  Still, it’s wonderful to be able to just do something normal, to be able to enjoy something without any enlargers or assistance.  I sometimes feel like I am in a no man’s land between two worlds.  Last night, it was nice to make a visit to my old, sighted, world.  Now I know that I can return to that world anytime for just the cost of a movie ticket.

3 thoughts on “Movie Night

  1. I recently listened to a BBC World Service podcast about a school for visually impaired children in Finland. They actually learn how to use sound to navigate and learn about their surroundings. I don’t have a link, but it is called “Sound of snow and ice” and was uploaded to iTunes in January. It’s in their Documentaries archive.

    Your blog is very good to read. I went through a life-altering experience about 10 years ago that left me very changed as a person. Unfortunately, I had no support from spouse, family or friends, who just wanted me back the way I used to be. I am glad to see you have plenty of support as you make this adjustment.

    • Hi. Thanks for your comment. I am sorry that you had to go through your life changing experience without support. That must have been difficult. I will try to find the podcast you mention. It sounds very interesting. Please keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

