Here Comes The Sun

I was having a bad day, a really bad day.  I was having a big pity party for myself.

I spent this morning at the Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired (ABVI) for a Low Vision Evaluation and it was very stressful.  The visit took almost two hours and was broken into three parts: a meeting with an eye doctor, a meeting with an optician, and a meeting with a social worker.  These three meetings left me feeling overwhelmed and exhausted – there is so much to think about in transitioning to low vision living and working.  There are so many options in the tools and services available.

In addition to feeling overwhelmed, I really cannot see.  My vision seems worse every day.  Everything I look at is wavy and blotchy, which makes me nauseous.  And I cried at work, which horrifies me.  And I am very scared about my surgery next Thursday.  Like I said, I was having a really bad day.

Then, when I arrived home from work, I found a card from my sister’s church in my mailbox.  The members of her church each signed the card.  That card changed everything.  It reminded me that I am not alone.  My sister and brother-in-law are praying for me and their church is praying for me.  Other family members and friends are praying for me and thinking of me.  God is good and will give me the ability to get through this upcoming surgery and deal with whatever may happen.  I do not have to feel sorry for myself, because there is grace in every situation.  I am so grateful for that card, for the care and concern of my family and friends, for good doctors who are working to save my vision, and for so many other blessings.  Receiving that card was like seeing the sun break through the clouds after a long, rainy day.  I want to send cards like that.  I want to remember to spread that kind of love and reassurance out into the world.  It’s the least I can do to thank the members of Four Mile Christian Church.

2 thoughts on “Here Comes The Sun

  1. I want you to know that on many occasions Bel, you have been that sunshine for my family. You have helped me find grace is so many small situations that have created strength in my life. I am blessed to have met you and honored to call you my friend. Please let me know if there is ANYTHING we can do.

Leave a Reply

