Perspective

When I was in college, one of my professors, Skip Battaglia, talked about a film he was making, called How the Frog’s Eye Sees.  The film is a study of movement and perception, since a frog only sees what is moving.  Things that are still cease to exist, for a frog.  Skip talked about the importance of perspective.  Sometimes, he said, you have to make your eyes go out of focus in order to really be able to see.  I have often thought of this in the years since college.  The visual world has been out of focus for me since I was a little girl and continues to grow more out of focus as time passes.  I guess, to parallel what Skip taught about the frog, I only see what is closest.  Things that are far away cease to exist, for me.  For example, when I look through a window with a screen I have to force myself not to look AT the screen but to look THROUGH the screen. When I look at my watch, even my hand is out of focus.  I have just begun to recognize the beauty in my perspective.

I have been thinking a lot about the world as I see it and how I can show the beauty of my world to others. especially since I made “my view tulips.” I’ve worked on a few other pictures, but it is really hard to get the blurriness and distortion that I see while keeping the image defined enough to understand.  I have a couple of pics to share:

I like this because it portrays the way my eyes see big splotches of color.  When I took this picture the sun was very bright and there were a lot of “sparkles” blocking my vision.  I tried to capture that by adding “noise” to the picture.  (Just a note – these pictures look a lot more like I intended them to if you actually CLICK on them and see them a little bigger.)

I also worked on a photo of daffodils.  It was really difficult to find a balance between showing the way I saw the burst of yellow while still making it actually look like flowers.

I also love photography that brings the world INTO focus, instead showing how out of focus it really looks to me.  I was able to accomplish seeing this daffodil in focus in a photo, even though it was only a blur in my visual reality:

The frog’s eye sees only objects in motion.  My eyes see only objects in proximity.  But photography expands my vision.  Two perspectives.  There is great beauty and value in both.  This realization has been a wonderful gift to me.

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. I really like the way you are using photography both to help others understand your experience, and help yourself “see” things more clearly.

    • Thank you Sheri. It is really a blessing to interact with people in this way. I am amazed at the kind things people are saying. Thanks for being a regular reader of my blog.

Leave a Reply

