Adapting

It’s kind of a dark, dreary day.  When I sat down to read the paper this morning, I found that I was unable to make out the writing.  My strongest reading glasses didn’t help.  So, I sat with John and drank my coffee while he read me some of the interesting news from the world.  We were cuddled up in a blanket with our dogs piled around us on the couch.  The time felt special and intimate.  Although I have always claimed Saturday morning paper reading as one of my favorite times of the week, I am realizing that maybe it is the relaxed time with John that is the important part.

We had some overripe bananas, so after we read the paper I made a batch of my “famous” granola.  Making this granola always reminds me of my Mom, because we were given the recipe at a cooking class we took together.  My Mom passed away suddenly twelve years ago, so I treasure all memories of time spent with her.  I was pregnant with my daughter, Emily, when we took the class.  Emily is now 21, so there have been many, many batches of this granola made during her lifetime.  I love it because it is healthy – sweetened only with bananas and dates and the only fat coming from a bit of coconut and nuts.  Everyone else loves it because it is DELICIOUS.  I could not really read the recipe, but I know it by heart.  Even though I had the recipe out on the counter, I didn’t need it.

So far today, I have “accomplished” two tasks in new ways.  Both of these tasks are special to me.  Reading the paper is a beloved Saturday morning ritual and making granola brings strong memories of my Mom.  If my vision loss kept me from enjoying either of them, I would be so sad.  But, I “read” the paper without reading and I followed a recipe without seeing it.  No pity party today.  My low vision did not hamper my tranquility.  It may be cloudy and dark outside, but it is sunny and warm in my heart.

2 thoughts on “Adapting

  1. Belinda, thank you for this heart felt writing. I met John last month and have a connection to him through the deaconate, I am a 1st year candidate. My daughter was born with normal vision but lost a considerable amount at 7 months old from surgery on her heart. She pushes against the limitations of her vision yet, at 30, she is angry at times for what she cannot do like drive. My mother started losing her vision 25 years ago and has almost total blindness now. I see my mother in what you wrote. She is still cooking from memory and hasen’t used a recipie card in years. Thank You for letting me see things from your perspective. Blessings. Tom

    • Tom, thank you for your comment. It really means a lot to me. I am sure that our paths will cross at a deacon event in the future, although I think my surgery is going to keep me away from the convocation. I look forward to meeting you. God bless your daughter and your mother who are both ahead of me on this journey into low vision living.

Leave a Reply

