Pretty In Pink

God is my refuge and God is my strength, a very present help in trouble.

That verse was able to finally lull me to sleep at about 4:30 this morning.  For some reason, my eye was really aching in the night and that gave me a bad headache.  I could not get to sleep.  Singing that little verse in my head, over and over, I finally felt myself relax and slip into sleep.

When I woke up, I was delighted to find that the bubble, inserted into my left eye during surgery,  is FINALLY getting smaller.  I can now see a line at the top edge of the bubble.  Unfortunately, that line is the only thing I can see through that eye.  Above and below the line I have only a sense of light and darkness, no shapes or colors.  Patience, patience, I tell myself.  This is part of the normal healing process.

I was able to go outside and take some pictures.  Thanks to all who sent encouragement my way after yesterday’s post.  The photo expedition was quite comical.  I had to wear my big sunglasses so that no dust was able to get in my eye.  I approached a patch of Creeping Phlox and looked at the screen on the back of my camera.  I was appalled to see nothing on the screen.  The camera was on, but the screen was dark.  Silly me, it was my sunglasses that were darkening the screen.  I lifted them briefly and snapped this picture

I love these flowers.  I always think of them as blooming on Emily’s birthday, which is not until the end of May.  They are very early this year.  We planted them just before she was born and transplanted them when we moved to Rochester.  The plants are just loaded with blossoms, a profusion of pink.  I can see the individual blossoms in the photo, even though they are only a blur in “real” life.

I guess it is a “pink” day, because the other pictures that I like were of a tree (crab apple?) in our back yard that is also loaded with pink blossoms.

This tree is actually on our neighbor’s property, but its branches hang over our patio like a canopy.  Today, it is a canopy of pink flowers.  So pretty!

In yesterday’s post, I wrote about my fear that I would be unable to take decent pictures, since I have no vision in my left eye.  I was right that I would shoot a lot of “garbage.”  Most of my photos are so bad that there is no usable image anywhere in them.  Even these photos, although I like them, are not spectacular.  The important thing is that I didn’t let my fear keep me glued to the couch.  I took a chance and went outside (by myself, I might add) and gave blind photography a try.  My reward for trying is a feeling of satisfaction.  And some pretty pink pictures.

3 thoughts on “Pretty In Pink

  1. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « AccessTech News

  2. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The BAT Channel

  3. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The Blind Buzz

Leave a Reply

