Graduation Day

Today is a great day.  Our daughter, Emily, graduated from college this morning.  The ceremony was lovely and it was a joy to see her walk across the stage and receive her diploma.  I am very proud of her.  She is a delightful young woman with a bright future ahead of her.

It was nice to be out of the house.  I haven’t really been anywhere since my surgery except for a couple of follow-up visits to the doctor.  It was a bit visually overwhelming to be in the midst of all of the sights and people and colors at the venue, but I am so glad that I was able to “see” Emily graduate.  I am also glad that I didn’t put my surgery off until after graduation.  Then, I would still have the entire process of surgery and recovery in front of me.  I would have had better vision today, but in the long run I am thankful to have the surgery over and done.

We also went out to dinner at Pane Vino to celebrate Mothers Day and Emily’s graduation.  The restaurant was warm and cozy and we are all stuffed with delicious food.  It was wonderful to have our whole family together, laughing and eating and celebrating. Mothers Day is often difficult for our family, since both grandmothers have passed away and we miss them very much.  Today was a good day, though, filled with happy memories and joyful events.

Now, Emily will be moving home for a while.  We will have a full house again, with all of our children back under our roof.  There will be lots of opportunities to build and enhance our relationships with Emily, who is now truly an adult.  I hope that I can honor her maturity and not force her back into her “child” roles and patterns.

Today has been a wonderful, blessed day.  I am so very thankful for my family.

4 thoughts on “Graduation Day

  1. What a lovely day! Your children are so beautiful. I’m looking at their pictures and trying to reconcile these adult faces with the little boys and girl I remember not so long ago … Congrats to Emily!!

    • I know, Melissa. I see them every day and still can’t believe how grown up they are. I ask Ben all the time “Did you grow again?” It amazes me that our babies are all grown up.

Leave a Reply

