5 Ways I Can Tell I’ve Been Home Too Long

My surgery was three weeks ago today.  For three weeks, I have been resting and recuperating and generally taking it easy.  I have rarely left the house.  I have seen only my family and a couple of friends.  My connection with the outside world is tenuous.  I have assembled a list of five ways that I can tell I have been home too long.

1.  I start each day by making two very important decisions:  First – Should I just stay in my jammies or should I change into sweats?  Second – Should I go barefoot or put on slippers?  My choice will set the tone for my day and so I spend a lot of time in the morning, lying in bed, trying to decide

2.  I have set up a little system whereby each task I do earns me points.  Once I earn enough points, I can “spend” my points on a snack or a nap.  It’s sort of my own, private game show.  Writing this paragraph, for example, has earned me a cup of juice.

3.  I look forward to telemarketing calls.  Yesterday, I made a new friend named Kristi.  I let her go through her whole speech and then we started chatting.  She has two cats who eat a LOT of cat food and weigh more than my dogs.  Her Mom calls her every day when she gets home from work.  Her boyfriend is looking for a job.  It was the most in-depth conversation I’ve had with a non-family member in weeks.

4.  For lunch, I will have a container of yogurt and a piece of Friendship Bread.  I planned this while I was eating my breakfast.  My day pretty much revolves around planning my next meal.  Next to deciding what I am going to wear, what I am going to eat is the biggest decision of my day.

5.  I have begun to put barrettes in my dogs’ hair.  I don’t believe I need to elaborate on that one.

Seriously, I have to get out of the house.  Luckily, writing this post has earned me enough points to go for a walk around the block.  Now where did I last see my shoes…

6 thoughts on “5 Ways I Can Tell I’ve Been Home Too Long

  1. This made my day. 🙂 Reminds me of when I was unemployed- working up the energy to go shower was a big part of my day. I would lie in bed or on the couch for so long before FINALLY making myself go do it. Although the house was a lot cleaner back then…

    I totally use the point system too. When I was in college I earned treats for every page of homework I wrote- sometimes it was something small like 1 cookie, but for really hard papers I got really awesome stuff like candy bars and ice cream! Now I use the point system for weight loss- if I lose 2 lbs I’m allowed a candy binge.

    • Glad you liked this post, Nikki. Writing it really changed my attitude. I went from feeling sorry for myself to being in a good mood. Humor always helps!

  2. Belinda – don’t feel bad. I own more pairs of slippers than I do shoes. And jammies versus sweats IS a big decision!

  3. Ah….too funny. Your number 4 point is the same for me. Food is a big thing.

    Putting barrettes in your dog’s hair? You DO need to get out! Quick, before you start putting clothes on your dog! lol.

Leave a Reply

