Small Victories

Armed with a cup of coffee in one hand and a to-do list in the other, I started this day ready to accomplish great things.  If I am returning to work next Monday, I have to get back into a routine of getting up and going in the morning and staying awake for an eight hour work day.  So far, so good.  I can cross a couple of items off my list.  It is a beautiful day and, after I cross off a few more tasks, I am going to go for a walk.

Next Monday.  Seven more days.  I look forward to returning to work.  Yet, I wonder how I am going to be able to do it.  I can’t drive, so even trying to figure out how I am going to get to work is a puzzle.  Once I arrive at work, I don’t know how much of my job I will be able to do.  I don’t have much stamina, so I wonder whether I will be physically able to stay for eight hours.  Today is a kind of test for myself to see if I can remain in motion in my own environment for that long.

My vision is a huge problem.  Since my surgery, I have mostly been wearing a contact lens in my right eye and letting my left eye “rest,” unfocusing.  On Thursday, I wore my glasses for a couple of hours to see if I could force my left eye to focus.  I could see an improvement as the time went by.  On Friday, I wore my glasses for the entire day.  John and I went to dinner and a movie and I kept wearing my glasses.  By the end of the movie, my eye was practically screaming for relief.  It hurt, feeling swollen and hot, and was watering like crazy.  I woke up Saturday morning with my eye crusted shut.  I could barely open my eye and it ached most of the day.  By Saturday evening it had returned to normal.  I will not try wearing my glasses for an extended period of time again for a while.  I have no idea when I will be able to put a contact in my left eye, but based on my glasses experience, I am in no hurry.

When I return to work, will I wear one contact?  Will I wear glasses?  Neither option will allow me to get around by myself.  My vision is still too blurry.  I have a few days to figure this out.  Meanwhile, on with my experiment.  Three hours of my eight hour “work day” are done.  Five more hours to go.  My mantra for the day is “No Naps.”  I may not accomplish great things today.  The good news is that I am not tired, yet.  I believe I can keep going.  Hooray for small victories.

Leave a Reply

