Taking A Ride

I took a ride with John and Ben yesterday evening, just to get out of the house.  I took my camera along.  While they went into a store I stayed in the car and snapped some pictures.  I was surprised when I uploaded them.  There were a couple of pictures that didn’t need too much editing and were not my usual type of picture.  I wanted to share some of the ones that I liked.

I was fooling around with my zoom on this one, seeing what happened if I went all the way out in a small space.  This is actually the spot where the windshield meets the dashboard.

I tried to catch the way the light was reflecting off the two vents.  Then, I zoomed in on something I thought was really interesting.  The following scene was completely blurry when I looked at it with my “real” vision.  But, when I used my camera to zoom in, I saw this:

I am really happy with this picture.

I also took some flower pictures yesterday.  It was a gorgeous, sunny day. The columbine and iris are blooming and they are so beautiful.  Here are some iris pictures

iris inside

And some columbine

I had a really successful photo day yesterday!  I explained in an earlier post about how good it is for me to be able to bring my blurry world into focus through photography.  One aspect of photography that I am working on is light.  I am trying to be more aware of light when I am taking each photo.  Since I can’t really determine the focus, this makes me feel a little more in control of the final product.  I took a look through my flower pictures and I am surprised at how many different flowering plants we have in our little city yard.  This is good news, because there is always something flowering,  I have more photos and I will put them on my flickr site.  Please feel free to leave comments and constructive criticism about the photos on this post and on flickr.

6 thoughts on “Taking A Ride

  1. I thought the rearview mirror photo was phenomenal! Also love the iris and columbine. My flowers are a little bit behind yours. My Iris are there but haven’t “popped” yet, and my columbine is just leafing out now. I’m glad you are having fun with your photography. But what about those articles we talked about, hmmm????

    • I was lucky. I was right there to snap a picture the second the iris opened! Everything is so early this year! I really like that rearview mirror picture, too. I am kind of paralyzed about sending articles to magazines. I will do it one of these days. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

