Blind Photography – Light and Dark

My blog posts seem to have taken on a theme this week – seeing.  Seeing stereotypes, seeing similarities, seeing the hidden inside each person.  Today’s post is also about seeing.  Through “blind photography”, I am learning to see in a new way.  I am especially becoming aware of the contrast of light and dark.  Many times, it is not until I upload my images to the computer that I notice the light in a photo.  Lately, though, I am trying to pay attention to the light as I am composing the shot.  The object I am photographing may look blurry and unclear to me, but I can usually see how the light is working if I look closely.  The other day, I noticed this interplay of light and dark in some items that had been tossed together randomly.  I grabbed my camera to try to capture the contrast.

When I uploaded the photos, I was pleased.  The items were almost monochromatic, which seems to make the light / dark contrast stand out more vividly and makes the textures more visible.

The textures were too subtle for me to see with just my eyes, but they really pop out for me in the photos.  This is why photography is such a gift to people who are visually impaired.  It makes visible what is invisible to the diminished vision of the eyes.

Even more than texture, the photos bring out subtleties in the way that the light and shadows work together – the contrasts making some things stand out more sharply against each other while other transitions appear softer and more sensual.

I learned a lot from photographing these items, trying to get the best angles to make the most of the shadows.  And I learned a lot about cropping and editing, finding the surprises within the shot, searching out more than one discovery within a photo.

This was a really good exercise to challenge me to stretch my creativity.  While I loved the composition of the tossed-together objects, my battery died after I took just one photo. Here is that original photo:

All of these images come from cropping that one photo in different ways, to eke out all the beauty I possibly could.  I want to transfer this lesson out into the world and open my heart to the beauty in each person and situation that I encounter.  Then I will truly be able to see.

One thought on “Blind Photography – Light and Dark

  1. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The Blind Buzz

Leave a Reply

