Ideal Bookshelf

I recently came across a series of paintings by Jane Mount.  She paints “Ideal Bookshelves,” replicating the spines of a person’s favorite books (of all time or from a particular time period) all lined up on a shelf.  In our house, we have numerous bookshelves full of books – from pre-reader baby books to grad school textbooks – and I love many of them.  Even though I have almost completely switched over to audio books because of my visual impairment, I still love my “real” books.  Since I read about Jane’s paintings, I have been trying to put together my own “Ideal Bookshelf.”  What books would I include?  It is a hard decision, and I decided to start with my Ideal Bookshelf of children’s books when I saw one of Jane’s  paintings of an Ideal Bookshelf of children’s books.

The Ideal Bookshelf of children’s books (above) contains many that I would choose for my own Ideal Bookshelf.  Looking at this painting brings me so many happy memories of reading these books to our children.  From this painting, I would have to include Winnie The Pooh, The Velveteen Rabbit, The Snowy Day, Corduroy, Goodnight Moon, Pat The Bunny, Madeline, and Frederick.  I would add a Dr. Seuss book, but which one?  Probably Green Eggs and Ham, since we have our very own “Sam I Am” in our family.  I would also have to add Bedtime For Francis and Where The Wild Things Are, books that our children could not hear often enough, and Give Me Grace, a little prayer book that Ben read every day for years.  Jamberry and Tikki Tikki Tembo and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom would have to be on my bookshelf, just because they are so much fun to read out loud.  I would have to include Love You Forever and All Those Secrets Of The World, even though I can’t get through either of these without crying.  One thing I love about these children’s books I’ve listed is that  I can recite many of them from memory.  I don’t have a sense of loss associated with children’s books, like I do with “grown up” books that I can no longer hold in my hands and read.   This is still a tough task, though. Every time I think my bookshelf is complete, I think of another wonderful children’s book that I can’t leave out.

Jane says that she loves to paint these bookshelves because she loves the connection with people and their books.  She feels joyful when someone asks her to include a book she, herself, loves on a bookshelf painting.  She also is intrigued by the design of the book spines and likes to recreate them.  (FYI – I am not being compensated in any way for mentioning Jane and her paintings.)  I really love this idea of creating Ideal Bookshelves and wanted to share it.  If you like the idea, please comment with some children’s books you would include on your own Ideal Bookshelf.

6 thoughts on “Ideal Bookshelf

  1. This is such a cool idea!! Theresa wouldn’t be able to include just a few books but I have a few favorites: And to think that I saw it on Mulberry Street by Dr Seuss, Harold and the Purple Crayon and Harry the Dirty Dog. We read Mulberry St to Ben at bed time every night for over 2 years. It would always be the first of 3 books at bedtime and he could recite it from memory and added his own little comments along the way. Sometimes he would recite it randomly in public (how cute). Peace, Jim

    • I do love Dr. Seuss. And I can’t believe I left poor Harold off my list. I meant to put him on. Doesn’t it bring back happy memories to think of children’s books? All those repetitions of the same books over and over were good for something. I think our entire family can recite Madeline – In an old house in Paris that was covered with vines lived twelve little girls in two straight lines… And don’t even get me started on Good Night Moon! lol Thanks.

  2. I like this idea. Especially with children’s books since that is about all I read these days and for so many days before this! I have been compliling a list of books that I want to have at my house when I become a Grandma. We love books that make us laugh. I love any book by Mo Willems. He is new on the children’s book scene. He used to write for Sesame Street. His books about a Pigeon are hilarious. Martha Speaks about a dog who can talk. I love Tomie DePaola books. Clown of God is a tear jerker. I am with you on Love You Forever. I will mostly have the ones which have been our kids favorites over the years. Chronicles of Narnia are a must for us. We all love Aslan! This was fun! Love you!
    Dee Dee

Leave a Reply

