What A Wonderful World

Almost every time I walk out my door and see that it is a beautiful day, I sing myself a line or two of the song “What a Wonderful World.”

I see trees of green, red roses too  
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

If I were to make a soundtrack of songs that are important in my life, this song would definitely be included.  It captures the mood of every wonderful, happy, summertime memory that I have.  I can not listen to this song without getting a big smile on my face.  I thought I would share it with you today.

This song is over 40 years old but, for me, it is still an antidote to any sorrow or hopelessness or despair in my world today.  After I listen to it, I feel hopeful and optimistic.  If I am sad, it reminds me that there are better days to come.  If I am happy, it makes joy bubble over in me.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
They’re really saying I love you.

I hear babies crying, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
Yes I think to myself what a wonderful world.

This song reminds me to expect to see beauty in the simplest things.  It calls me to be a person that makes the world a better place by looking for that beauty.  It speaks to me of the grace that is available in the world if I keep my eyes and heart open.


7 thoughts on “What A Wonderful World

  1. There was a priest at St. Mary’s in Canandaigua, Fr. Emmet Halloran, who, in his 80’s, stood before the congregation offering his homily. He spoke of God’s blessings in our world, in our lives, and he ended in perfect pitch by singing… “and I think to myself, what a wonderful world.” I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

  2. I love this song- also “Smile” by nat king cole, which is both beautifully joyful and beautifully sorrowful. I’m sure you’ve heard it. “Smile” makes me always realize that things are what you make them, and if you decide to smile through the hard times they’ll be that much easier to take.

    Smile:
    Smile though your heart is aching
    Smile even though it’s breaking
    When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
    If you smile through your fear and sorrow
    Smile and maybe tomorrow
    You’ll see the sun come shining through for you

    Light up your face with gladness
    Hide every trace of sadness
    Although a tear may be ever so near
    That’s the time you must keep on trying
    Smile, what’s the use of crying?
    You’ll find that life is still worthwhile
    If you just smile

Leave a Reply

