Swans!

There is something about swans.  They are magnificent, graceful creatures.  When I see a swan, its beauty stops me in my tracks.  When I see a family of swans, I feel joyful and peaceful and blessed.  The other day, John, Sam and I took the dogs for a walk at Turning Point Park, just north of our house.  The sun was setting and it was a gorgeous evening.  We were walking along the boardwalk when we saw them – two adult swans with a cygnet.

We stopped and watched them for a while, but the dogs wanted to keep moving.  At this park, there is a gorgeous long boardwalk-type bridge that meanders along out over the water.  A special Rain Garden has been developed and there are all kinds of plants and birds.

I thought there were great photo opportunities, but I wasn’t finding any good shots.  I was having a hard time seeing because we were facing into harsh light.  Part of my visual impairment is an inability to see unless the light is perfect – too bright or too dim and I can’t adjust.  Bibi (the dog I was in charge of) was not cooperating.  At one point I zoomed in on a red winged blackbird, but Bibi jerked her leash and I almost dropped my camera in the river.  I was afraid that I was not going to get any good shots at all.

Then, we turned around.  With the sun behind us, I could see a lot more clearly.  I took some photos of the plant life and hoped that they would be usable when I uploaded them.  The lily pads were gorgeous with the sun reflecting off of them.  They looked almost metallic.

We came upon the swans again and I took some photos of mother and cygnet swimming next to each other.

I love this picture, with the baby following its mother so closely.  I like the strength of the shadow on the water.  I know that the photo is a little overexposed, but I think the subject matter makes it worthwhile.  I look at the photos from this walk with a critical eye and I am not altogether pleased with them.  There is one exception.  I am extremely pleased with the photo below.  Here is my very favorite photo of this visit to the park.

swans at turning point

I don’t know why the reflection of the swans in the water is so clear, but I am really happy with how it turned out.  For me, this photo has a feeling of family, of maternal love and protection.  It captures the feeling of joy I have when I see a beautiful, graceful swan.

10 thoughts on “Swans!

  1. Belinda,

    I am Sumit Soren from India, I run a blog http://sumitsoren1983.blogspot.com/

    I have written a small write up on blind photography on my blog. In this I have used four photos from your blog, with full credit to your blog and you. Please let me know if I may retain these pics on my blog.

    Your blog and photos are wonderful and I would like to acquaint those with my friends and readers. Hope you wouldn’t mind. Best wishes!

  2. Belinda! OMG! Those swan pictures with the reflections in the water are AMAZING! I am catching up on your blog and John and I were stunned! You rule!
    Love,
    Dee Dee & John
    P.S. Can’t wait for FC. Just 2 weeks away! Yea!

    • Thanks. I love swans and I am really proud of the picture of mama and baby swan side by side. Thanks for reading my blog and thanks for commenting. Peace.

  3. Belinda, you blog is such an inspiration. How lucky are we to live in a society and time in which technology is accesible to us. Thank you!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we are very lucky that technology is improving so quickly in this age and making lives easier. Thank you for commenting.

  4. Another inspiring post Belinda. I learned to always use the camera strap only after dropping/breaking one, so I’m a stickler for using them.

    I really like the Lilly Pads, and the Swans are fantastic… really nice work. Thank you 🙂

    • Thanks. I am lucky that I always worry about dropping things, so I was using my strap. Otherwise, my camera would be at the bottom of the Genesee River. I’m glad you like the photos. I am really proud of the one of the mama and baby side by side, even though I really just was lucky. Thanks for your comment.

  5. What awesome, moving photos! I am visiting my family now where there are a lot of swans at the local park and they are something to behold! Thank you for such beautiful photos and your inspiring stories!

    • Thanks, Pam. It’s nice to hear from you. I hope everything is going well. I love swans and I’m glad you like them too. Thanks for your kind words about my photos. Peace.

Leave a Reply

