Spreading the Joy

In yesterday’s post, I wrote about the joy of riding in a classic convertible.  The visit to Mt. Hope Cemetery ended in a way I never could have imagined.  After eating lunch and walking around Highland Park for a few minutes, we (Jim, Theresa, John and I) took the Cemetery tour.  The tour was led by a knowledgeable man who told us he has been giving tours for 30 years.  He showed us many interesting grave sites and told us wonderful stories.  He even pointed out odd geological formations on the cemetery grounds.  The tour ended with lemonade and cookies at the Gatehouse.  It was a lovely experience.  We were walking back toward the convertible when the strangest thing happened.

At Mt. Hope Cemetery, there is a huge, beautiful fountain.  We had parked near this fountain.  As we walked toward the car, we saw that a wedding party was having photos taken in front of the fountain.  The bridesmaids were wearing green and a turquoise color that almost matched the car.  I think each of the four of us had the same thought –  The wedding party would look great against the convertible.  It was obvious that they had noticed the car.  The question was whether they would dare to ask if they could use the car for a prop.  They dared.  The attraction of the car was too strong to be stopped.  Jim agreed that they could take some pictures with the car.

First, the men lined up along the car.

Then it was the ladies’ turn.

The wedding party had such a fantastic time posing in front of the car.  I hope that the photographer was able to get some great shots.  I could see that posing with the car made them relax and have fun.  I’m sure it was a perfect antidote to the stress of the wedding day.  The photographer even took a picture of the four of us with the car, to repay us for letting her use it.

I don’t know what the moral of the story is.  Maybe it is that when you give a gift, it just keeps on giving.  Maybe it is that there is no end to generosity.  Maybe it is that if your heart is light, wonderful things will happen all around you.  Maybe it is that being open to grace spreads joy everywhere.  Whatever the moral, I pray that my eyes and heart are always open to the grace and joy around me in the world.

4 thoughts on “Spreading the Joy

  1. I don’t usually spend too much time on Facebook except to look at photos and see what is going on with family and friends. However, the photo John posted and his post- “Being open to grace spreads joy everywhere…” caught my attention.
    I clicked on the link and found your wonderful Blog. I had no idea that you even wrote one. I started reading and couldn’t stop. I went back to March and read your posts in order. I smiled, laughed (the Friendship Bread!), prayed and cried.
    You have certainly spread joy to me and to my family. You have given me much to reflect on. Thank you

  2. When I told Larry(the car owner) the story of our day he was so thrilled that he told just about everyone he saw that day. He was happy and proud to have had a part in our day of giving.

    • Hooray for Larry and God bless him for his generosity. I’m glad he was thrilled. Isn’t it funny to think that his car is going to be in someone’s wedding album?

Leave a Reply

