The Luckiest

Our wedding anniversary is coming up – on July 7 John and I will have been married for 26 years.  It seems hard to believe that we are now an old married couple.  Sometimes, I still feel like we are newlyweds.  We have had a lot of fun and we have weathered some bad times.  We have each made a lot of decisions to put the other first.  I feel very blessed to have John as my lifetime friend and love.  I wanted to post a song that I love because it feels like it fits us.

Many times, over the past years, I have thought about how “lucky” and blessed I am to have met John.  We almost met at Clarkson College.  He attended Clarkson and I was planning to go there, but I got cold feet about going so far from home and ended up staying in Rochester and enrolling at St. John Fisher College.  After a couple of years at Clarkson, John decided to transfer to Fisher.  I sometimes think that we almost missed each other.

And where was I before the day
That I first saw your lovely face?
Now I see it everyday
And I know

That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

We’ve been together for so long now that I can hardly remember a time when John was not by my side.  We were so young when we met.  I fell head over heels in love with John and I am so grateful that I can see his face every day.  I always thought that our love was special and I really believe that God brought us together for a purpose and gave us a special grace in our marriage.  People tell me all the time that I am lucky to have such a supportive husband.  I know that they are right.  The reason I am handling my deteriorating vision so well is that, with John by my side, I feel strong enough to face the situation.

I am trying not to be overly sentimental.  I just want to take a minute today to honor our years of marriage and to honor John as a husband.  As the songs says, I know that I am the luckiest.  I believe that every day of my life.  The words of the song ring true and I want John to know –

I love you more than I have ever found a way to say to you.

6 thoughts on “The Luckiest

  1. Congratulations on 26 years and we can’t imagine 2 people more perfect for each other. We’ll be celebrating 20 years of wedded bliss on the same day and maybe 6 years later we can get as cute as you.

Leave a Reply

