Duck, Duck, Goose!

It was such a beautiful day yesterday that we (Ben and his friend Sean, John and I) took a drive up to Ontario Beach Park, where Lake Ontario meets the Genesee River, and walked along the pier.  There were so many people!  The pier was full of people walking in groups, talking and laughing.  All ages were represented – little children with parents, teenagers, young couples, middle aged and elderly were all represented.  I tried to take a picture of the pier, but there were so many people that it was just a mess.

This picture gives you some idea of how busy the pier walkway was.  It was so wonderful to see so many people out enjoying the sunshine.  In addition to the people walking, groups of people were settled in chairs and on benches all along the river walk.  It made me so happy to see them.

Also out in abundance were boats.  Sailboats, speedboats, and jet-skis were in the Genesee River and on Lake Ontario.  It was a beautiful sight.

This photo is a perfect example of why I love blind photography.  I could see that there was something way out on the Lake, but I couldn’t tell what it was.  I was thrilled to see the sailboats emerge when I uploaded the pictures and enlarged this one.  I am so thankful that I am able to see this beautiful sight through my camera and computer.

As busy as the boats kept the water, something else was even more abundant.  Birds.  Water birds were everywhere!  Ducks, geese, seagulls, and other birds were flying, sitting, and swimming all around.  They, along with the boats and the water itself, were providing entertainment for all the crowds of people who were enjoying the evening.

Duck, Duck, Goose!

Our trip to the beach was really a perfect activity for a beautiful summer evening.  Sunshine, people, boats, birds and beach provided wonderful, free entertainment.  Just another reason I love living in Rochester.

Leave a Reply

