No Limits to Imagination

Tonight I am tired but happy.  My office had a big event today and it went very well.  As I wrote in yesterday’s post, John is at Camp Koinonia for the week.  I am going to spend as much time there as I can this week, but I do have to work.  I am a bit limited in traveling back and forth because I absolutely cannot drive at night.  My night vision is too bad and my eye doc “suggests” that I avoid it.  My event went late today, so I could not make it to Camp tonight before dark.  I am home without John tonight, for the second night in a row.  This is odd for us, because we are rarely apart.

It’s good for me to experience doing things on my own.  Since my vision began to deteriorate, it seems like I am depending on John more and more.  It’s important that I force myself to stretch and do for myself the things I am able to do.  I want to test the boundaries and not give up anything unless I absolutely have to.

Here are some things I have given up because of my vision:

  1. Driving at night – just not safe because I have poor night vision.
  2. Reading the newspaper – can’t read the small print.
  3. Reading books for pleasure – ditto above, plus, even with larger print the letters just seem to swim on the page after a few minutes.
  4. Cooking and baking when I need a recipe – reading again 😦 recipes and labels and measuring are all difficult and frustrating.
  5. Sewing and quilting – too difficult to do the fine work.  Actually, it’s not really fair to put this on the lst, because I have not had time for it in a long time anyway.

Here are some things I can still do:

  1. Drive during the day – hooray!
  2. Read the newspaper online OR sit on the porch with John while he reads interesting stories to me (way more fun than it sounds).
  3. Listen to audio books – a huge selection of these are FREE to download from our local library.  Plus, I have discovered podcasts, which can be really interesting.
  4. Cooking and baking when I have the recipe in my head – I can make many, many dishes for which I don’t need a recipe.  OR I can “team bake” with John or one of the kids, which is a good, fun bonding activity.
  5. Photography has become my hobby of choice.  I love taking photos and uploading them and “playing” with them on the computer.  I really want to improve my ability.

I have to say that the items I have gained are (mostly) more fun than the items I have lost.  My world continues to expand instead of closing in on me, as I had feared.  I hope that I am always able to find something positive to replace anything I lose.  Low vision has its limits, but imagination has none.

7 thoughts on “No Limits to Imagination

  1. Dear Belinda,

    I read your story, and want you to know that there are solutions for vision loss.
    I work for a company that provides low vision aids. I have the privilege to share these solutions that give people the opportunity to read, write and view pictures again. Our passion is to help give back independence!
    Please feel free to contact me at 800-826-4200ext.222 and visit our site at
    http://www.Shoplowvision.com.

    We also have a site called http://www.Visionzone.org, which is a site to create vision awareness and ocular health. Our goal is to unite the low vision community, and provide information.

    Kindest Regards,
    Charla

  2. …. has it’s limits but imagination has none.
    What a wonderful idea for reflection – no matter what our losses. Belinda, I love your spirit and
    “vision.” Thank you for becoming our spiritual director! ginny

    • Thank you for the comment, Ginny. I really appreciate your kind words. Fr. Joe’s homily on Sunday was (in part) about the lens we use to see the world and it made me think about looking for the good instead of feeling sorry for myself. I have been thinking about that for the last couple of days and trying to use a lens of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

