I Will Try To Fix You

There is a grieving process to this journey of losing vision.  For me, it is best to acknowledge grief when I am aware of it.  Recognizing and naming my grief helps me to work through it and continue my journey as a healthy person.  Sometimes a song will strike a chord in me and feelings of grief that I was unaware of will come spilling out.  This happened the other day when I heard the song “Fix You” by Coldplay.  I had never heard it before, and I fell in love with it.

When I heard this song, I started crying.  It awakened a grief inside me that I had tucked away deep inside. I maintain a positive attitude about my vision, but of course I grieve for the loss.  This song brought that grief to the surface, so I want to acknowledge it.  I believe that will help me heal and move on.  So I let myself have a minute to cry.

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace

My tears were not just about grieving a loss.  They were about working through that grief and about allowing love to heal the hurts inside me.  They were about gratitude.  This song made me think of how much God cherishes and protects me.  This song made me think of how John loves me and “fixes” me.

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

I am so very grateful that I have someone to be with me on this journey, to love me through the loss, and to strengthen and fix me when I am broken.  John’s love is like a light in the window, showing me the way home during the times when I am lost. John’s love reminds me of how much God loves me.

I am glad I heard this song.  It helped me take an honest look at where I am.  It helped me acknowledge that I am grieving my loss of good vision.  And it helped me to find the grace in the situation – love that lifts me above the grief and helps me heal.

Leave a Reply

