Day of Rest

Today has been just a phenomenal day.  Yesterday was spent taking Sam and Benjamin back to camp and going over the program with this week’s spiritual directors.  We ended up staying at camp for a good part of the day and didn’t get home until evening.  We barely made it through dinner before we fell into bed, exhausted.  We decided that today was going to truly be a “day off” to do whatever we wanted.

We spent most of the morning on the porch, drinking coffee and talking.  Emily was our only child home so we were able to have a little “alone” time with her.  It was a very lovely way to spend the morning.  Her boyfriend rode his bike over and spent a little time with us, too.  Then, Emily packed up and went back to Camp for another week of work.  She is Camp Manager at Camp Koinonia for the summer and has responsibility for day to day operations of the camp and facilities and staff.  All three of our children will be away this week, so John and I are home alone!

We did a few chores around the house and then we looked at our calendars and set some dates for fun.  We scheduled a few of the items on my “List of 50 Things.” We realized that time is slipping by and we had better get some of these on the calendar.  I looked at the list and saw that I am able to check off a couple more items.  I am so excited to be working through my list.

While we were in an organizing mood, John and I decided what meals we would like this week and went shopping.  While I love having our kids around for meals, it was nice to plan whatever we wanted without having to worry about pleasing everyone’s tastes.  We came home and had a delicious, but simple, dinner and now we are relaxing on our porch. I am caught up on responding to the comments on my blog, so there should be no delay for anyone who comments now.

For those who don’t know the many ways you are able to follow this blog, here are the choices:

  1. You can subscribe to the blog by clicking on the “Sign Me Up” button that is about halfway down the right hand column (under the Email Subscription heading).  you will receive each daily post by email.
  2. You can follow me on Twitter.  I “tweet” my post every day under my twitter name “bbrasley”.
  3. You can go to my blog’s Facebook page and “Like” the page.  I post my blog to this page daily.

However you find my blog, I thank you for visiting and reading it.  I love when people comment and hope that you will add your thoughts to any post.

I enjoy writing my blog posts very much and I hope that they encourage you to find the grace in each day.  Today has really been a day full of the grace of God, a day to refresh and renew and re-energize.  I am so very thankful to have had a day to rest and relax.  It is a blessing to have a day of rest.  It is a great blessing to be able to take that day of rest and enjoy it to the fullest.

2 thoughts on “Day of Rest

  1. So glad you had a nice, relaxing day, Belinda. I took a moment to look over your list of 50 things and noticed one item was “spend some time bird watching.” If you get a chance, just outside of Salamanca, there is an eagle’s nest with two baby eagles in it! We spotted it on our way home from Lake Erie– a magnificent sight to behold. I’d hoped to spot an eagle this summer but never expected an eaglet as an added bonus!! Posted a photo on my FB page in my “Birds” album if you’re interested 🙂

    • Thanks, Melissa. I love your picture of the eaglet! How wonderful. Thanks for letting me know. I hope we can make it to see the nest sometime. I will be watching you fb to find out where there is an eagle’s nest near Wayland. That is a lot closer than Salamanca! Hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

