A Study In Contrast

Today was a study in contrasts.  We spent the morning at Kathie’s funeral, then, tonight, we commemorated our friends’ (Cory and Tanishia) tenth wedding anniversary.  We cried all morning and mourned the loss of our friend.  We partied all evening and celebrated the marriage of our friends.  We grieved with a family who is grieving and we rejoiced with a family who is rejoicing.

The cycle goes on.  Desolation followed by consolation.  Sorrow followed by joy.  Death followed by life.  The sun rises and sets.  And we go on.

The important reminder for me today is that life is so precious and so fragile.  I want to gather all my friends and family and tell them that I love them.  I want to spend time with each person that I love.  I have some regrets about the amount of time I spent with Kathie before she died.  I want to learn a lesson and not have regrets like this ever again.  Tonight, I looked at Cory and Tanishia’s children and saw that they are growing so fast.  I want to be there to watch them grow up.  I realized that I haven’t seen my nieces and nephews in ever so long, and I want to see them and get to know them.  I don’t want to miss out on any more of their lives.  We don’t have much free time, but we have some.  And I want to choose how we spend it – meaningfully and with loved ones, not frittered away on tasks and chores and busyness.

My List of 50 Things included a lot of things I want to get done before my next birthday.  The most important of these for me, now, are the ones involving visiting or spending time with family and friends.  I want to make the people I love a priority and make sure that they know that I love them.  I want to start right now.

Leave a Reply

