When God Closes A Door

When God closes a door, he opens a window.

I have heard this expression all my life.  It has incorporated itself into my belief system.  When a “door” closes, I start looking for the “window.”  Whenever I am blocked in one endeavor, I immediately look for something to fill the void left behind.

When I left my part-time youth ministry position, it really felt like a door was closing.  No more ministry, no more working with teens, loss of income, loss of purpose.  A door closed.  Would God open a window?  I began to look and wait and hope for a window.

The problem is, this door closed for a reason.  I need time and energy to figure out how to live this new way, with low vision.  I need down time almost every evening to rest my eyes after a day at my full-time job.  I need space to figure out how to incorporate a healthier lifestyle into my too-busy life.  I need to work through a lot of physical and emotional baggage about my deteriorating vision.  What I do not need is a window to open to a new part-time job or a new ministry or a new task.

I realize that I need to STOP looking for a window.  The door closed and I need to stay in this place for a while and learn the lessons here.  It would be a mistake to frantically look for escape through a window.  I would make a window and I would become busy again and I would deny myself the time and space and energy and work I need to come to terms with my vision, my health, and myself.

So, I am going to take this sentence out of my programming.  For a while, I will change it to “When God closes a door, it is closed for a reason.”  I will stay here, in this place and learn to live with low vision and learn to find grace in all situations and learn to have habits that are more healthy.

And then, when I have found my peace with this place, when I have learned all that I need to learn, when I am ready, then God will open a window.  And then I will be ready to go wherever the new path leads.

14 thoughts on “When God Closes A Door

  1. Belinda, my dearest friend,
    You are so inspiring to me! I just LOVE your writings. This topic has given me a different perspective on the pharse “when God closes a door, He opens a window”. I too have tired frantically to search for that ‘open window’ when the door has closed. But now, I am begining to wait patiently for God to open that window/or maybe it’ll be a door on HIS time not mine. All things happen because He deems them so. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. *hugs & smooches* coming your way from down here in lovely Groveland ~ She-ly-a

    • Aw, your comment made my day! Thanks for letting me know that I gave you something to think about. This is really a big change for me – we will see how long I can be patient before I start searching for that window. Keep me in your prayers, please. Love you!

  2. This is so true. I remember the 15 month wait for our first daughter’s adoption. I thought it was endless. I only realized later that God was giving me time to grieve the life I was expecting so my heart would be open to choose a new beginning. The window he opened was more than amazing than I could have ever imagined or dreamed possible.

    • You are right, Lisa. Sometimes our internal tapes are helpful and sometimes we would do better to not listen to them. When I am frantically looking for the window to open immediately, I miss so much that can bring me joy in the future. God is good. Thank you for your comment.

  3. thank you for this. oftentimes we try to look too fast for that other door or window without peace in our heart. what is supposedly a fresh start becomes a bitter escape. here’s to a sanctuary without walls 🙂

    • You seem to have completely understood what I was trying to say. I sometimes become frantic in my search for the window and miss the lesson and beauty of the closed door. Thank you for your comment.

  4. Thank you for your inspiring words. I love connecting with someone who is going on this journey as I am. My emotions right now are fragile, but your writing makes me feel less alone.
    Gen

    • I am so glad that we have connected and that you find my posts helpful. It is good to have companions on this journey, because it is scary at times. Please remember that you are not alone! Thank you for commenting and please keep in touch.

  5. Your words are so true Belinda in that we look for that window to open. I too have realized that I am here at this point in my life and vision for a reason and God has put me here. I am trying to take care of myself also, my health, eating, being active, so to take care of the other parts of me not only my vision. Just awakened and really have not had any coffee so if my thoughts are scattered I can blame it on that right?! (smiling) You and I have so much in common that it is truly uncanny. God has brought me to “view” your life, your struggles and your triumphs. I truly believe this. I hope you have a great work week Belinda.

    • Pam, we truly are kindred spirits. I’m trying to remember that my whole body is a system and my eyes are telling me that there is a problem with the system. I want to make myself as healthy as possible and I think doing that will decrease the strain on my eyes. Thank you for your comment. You have a great week, too.

  6. I think that is a wonderful idea Belinda. Too often, our lives are so busy we don’t take the time to take care of ourselves…I am very glad to hear that you are doing this. There is definetly a lot said for “simplifying our lives”. You are in my daily thoughts and prayers 🙂

    • You are right, Becky. My problem is, I simplify my life and then it gets all cluttered up with new stuff. I am really working to make some permanent changes this time. Thank you for your kind thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

