Just Quick

When I am tired and every task seems overwhelming, there is a phrase that spurs me into action.  When my “to do” list is long and I don’t know where to begin, there are two words that get me started,  When faced with a sink full of dishes or a pile of laundry or a messy house or a pile of papers or a list of phone calls,  two little words are a catalyst that sets me in motion.

These two words are “just quick.”  Years ago, I read about a woman who uses them when faced with an unpleasant task.  As in, “I’ll ‘just quick’ wash these dishes.” or “I’ll ‘just quick’ make these phone calls.”  These two simple words have the power to change my perspective and cut insurmountable tasks down to size.

Before I learned the phrase “just quick,” I would procrastinate on small tasks and build them up in my mind to be huge ordeals.  When I would finally get around to taking care of the task, I would be surprised to find that it was finished quickly.  All the procrastinating and agonizing over the task would turn out to be just a waste of time and energy.

Since I learned about using this little phrase, I have incorporated it into my life.  I really use it all the time.  I look at the laundry and think, “I’ll throw in a load ‘just quick’ and get through this in no time.”  I gather up the bills and tell myself that I’ll pay them “just quick” and then they’ll be done.  Whenever my least favorite tasks need to be done at work – filing, filling out forms, scheduling appointments – I do them “just quick” and move on to the parts of my job that I love.

Using these words may sound silly to those who don’t procrastinate and those who are paralyzed by the thought of getting started on a task.  But to me, these words have been life-changing.  The provide momentum to help me end inertia.  They cut tasks down to size.  They help me get started (and finished) “just quick.”  To anyone who has difficulty beginning tasks, I offer these words.  Use them to launch into the next task that feels overwhelming and it will be done “just quick.”

6 thoughts on “Just Quick

  1. Hi Belinda,
    Every so often you happen to come back into my thoughts, and I wonder how you might be doing. This time I decided to try a search on the web and came across your blog. My mother went through a similar loss of vision, but from diabetes. She did her best to adapt, even though it was very hard… I feel for you, because I remember how she struggled to do most things, such as reading or even recognizing a person’s face.
    After reading through some of your posts, I can see that you have a true happiness in your life by living almost every day with hope and optimism.
    Please know that I still and always will remember you fondly, and I hope your happiness continues forever forward.
    Love,
    Rick Murante

    • Hi, Rick, it is so nice to hear from you. I really am doing great, even with my vision problems. As I said in one of my posts, they have actually been a blessing in many ways. So how have you been the last ten or fifteen or twenty years? Thanks so much for looking me up and saying hi. 🙂

      • Yeah, kids keep you so busy! It’s hard to believe that John and I will be empty nesters in a couple of years. Our babies are almost all grown up!

  2. Thank you for that! It’s actually just what I needed to hear today!
    Your talk of procrastination made me think of a friend who always says, “If you wait until the last minute, it only takes a minute!” LOL!
    So, I better stop procrastinating and, ‘just quick’ read my students’ papers…

    • Hi Sheri, I hope you finished your papers. I’m happy that my little “just quick” worked for you. I really do think it all the time when I am stuck. It helps me get things done.

Leave a Reply

