When Life Hands You Lemons…

I have been having some trouble making good photos.  I am not sure what is wrong.  The light never seems to be right, or the subject is out of focus, or I just can’t make a good composition out of my raw material.  Since I have been frustrated with my attempts at photography, I decided to try to play with some bad photos and see if I can make something interesting and abstract out of any of them.

I like the feeling I get when I look at this photo.  To me, it has a serene quality.  It makes me feel peaceful and calm.  The mark in the foreground makes me think of the fluid movement of calligraphy.

This photo was initially an attempt to catch the raindrops falling on bushes in front of our house.  It was a big disappointment until I played with it a bit.  Now I get an interesting, dynamic feeling.  I like the strength and sharpness of the shapes of falling rain.

In contrast to the sharpness I feel in the last photo, this one feels soft and gentle.  I think I like this because it looks so familiar to me.  This is the way I see landscapes with my own vision as I look out the car window while we are driving.  Soft, unfocused green highlighted by points of color.   Sometimes I believe that the way I see the world is like a painting by Monet.

This is my favorite.  I love the dreamy way it turned out.  Of all the photos I have worked on, to me, this looks most like art.

These are my offerings for the day.  My true-life photos are not turning out to be pleasing to me, but with some manipulation, I have some pictures that I like.  That is good news after my recent photography failures.  The whole point of blind photography is to bring my world into focus and to show others what I see.  I don’t know whether these photos are good.  I only know that they give me good feelings.  As a beginner, I am happy with that.  I hope that you find at least one of them pleasing.  Please leave me a comment with your thoughts.

12 thoughts on “When Life Hands You Lemons…

  1. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The BAT Channel

  2. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « AccessTech News

  3. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The Blind Buzz

  4. It’s great that you’re experimenting like this. Sorry to be boring, but looking at the photos a few times, I’ve settled on the first one too – the colour wash has a sense of depth, then yo have the sharp figure in the front for contrast.

    Also being a blind photographer, some of the blurry images I’ve come up with look rather like the way I see things, so I keep them as a true record! Other times, I have photos I consider total failures, and I discard those, having decided there’s nothing good about them at all. Other photos that are technically misfires might be blurred, which can sometimes give a sense of movement or depth, or a mysterious atmosphere, and I like those. I guess my vision is a bit like Monet’s too. Other times I may get things at what you might call the wrong angle, but that might be interesting, and not just a total mistake.

    So there are some reasons I’d say carry on as you are: you’re making interesting images, and getting to see things, and that’s got to be good!

    • Thanks so much for your comments and encouragement. I needed it, because my photography has been very spotty lately. Three votes for photo #1. I really enjoyed playing around with these photos and coming up with something different. I am so glad you visited my blog and took the time to comment. Thank you.

  5. Love the photos and have to agree with M Jean in that I like the first one the best. It is a soft, gentle flowing type of photo and is calming but yes with a little ghostly flair. You are so talented and find new ways to see through your eyes!

    • Thanks, Pam, for sharing your thoughts about photo #1. I do find that one peaceful. I’m so glad you like my photos, because I have really been struggling with photography lately. Thanks.

  6. I think I like the first one the most. It has a whimsical, almost ghosty feel about it. The fourth one makes me think of Chernobyl. They say the trees still glow red at night from the radiation. Enjoyed looking at these, Belinda.

    • It’s interesting that the fourth one makes you think of something horrible. When I showed it to John, he said that it was scary and he didn’t want to look at it any more. I didn’t get that at all at first, but now I see a disturbing aspect in it. I still like it, though. I do also like the first one, so peaceful. Thanks for the comment.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention When Life Hands You Lemons… « Losing Vision Gaining Insight -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

