Sorting

Today was overcast but very hot and humid.  It was a great day to spend time someplace cool, so I decided to spend some time going through my sewing and craft supplies, which are in the basement.

One of the saddest results of my vision loss is that I no longer enjoy sewing and crafting, which were a big part of my old life.  It has become too difficult to complete projects with the precision that makes me happy.  I have been accumulating fabrics and supplies for years and have an embarrassingly large stockpile that, I now know, I will never be able to use.  Even if my sight was perfect, it would be time to go through and get rid of some things.  Since sewing is now so difficult, I really wanted to eliminate the baggage of so many supplies I will never use.

When I made my list of things I wanted to do before my next birthday, I put “Go through my craft materials and donate the things I will never use.” second on the list.  I have been avoiding the task for a couple of reasons.  First, because it is so overwhelming.  I have so much and I hardly know where to begin.  Second, because I love fabric.  I love to look at it and touch it and handle it and even smell it.  I want to hang onto some in the hope that I will find a way to continue to sew.  Because I love fabric so much, I want it all to be used.  It makes no sense to keep fabric I will never use sitting in my basement.  It makes me happy to think of donating it and having someone actually make beautiful things out of it.

When I opened the first box and started going through it, I felt overwhelmed and thought the whole process was going to be a failure.  I took a deep breath and tried to be objective.  I was able to see that there are some fabrics that I really love and others that are just okay.  I decided that I would keep any that I can’t imagine not having and get rid of the rest.  It was really easy to identify the fabrics that I can’t live without.  They went into one pile while all the others went into a second pile.  I ended up going through a lot of fabric and, so far, I have three boxes to donate, one box I am keeping, and one bag of scraps to throw away – so small and ratty that I don’t even know why I was saving them.

After a couple of hours, I knew I was done for the day.  I feel really satisfied with what I accomplished.  I can’t check off #2 from my list yet, but I think I only need one or two more days of sorting.  The good news is that I found, in a box in my basement, a finished quilt top that I had completely forgotten about.  A finished quilt top for a double bed!  It definitely deserves to be taken somewhere to be machine quilted and then it can be put to use, instead of being buried in a box in the basement.  I see the quilt top as my surprise reward for sorting through all those fabrics.  It’s a pretty nice reward for a couple of hours of work.

7 thoughts on “Sorting

  1. Belinda,
    For those fabrics that you just can’t give up, can you see well enough to make them into some basic pillows? If you can get more than one out of some pieces, donate the rest to a nursing home or elementary school (for their reading corners). Just a thought. Congrats on tackling the project!

    • Thanks, Sue. I don’t know if I could make pillows. The last time I tried to sew it was kind of a disaster, so I have given up for a while. I am thinking that maybe, after I get my fabric and crafts sorted out, I will try again. Thanks for the comment and the support. 🙂

  2. Belinda,
    Awesome blog!
    I can so relate to craft supplies!! Have a ton of them, only have not crafted in almost 7 years!!
    I may know someone who can finish your quilt for you, if you are interested give me a call.

    Thank you for sharing this time in your life. I may not be losing my site physically, but I am awakening to how “blind” (at least to the things that are really important), I really have been. Your perspective has also really helped!
    Love to you and John!

    • Hi Liz. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I think that craft supplies multiply when we are not looking. It amazes me how much my physical vision loss has helped me to open my eyes and heart to being able to really “see” grace in the world. Thanks for your kind words. Peace.

  3. Dear Belinda,

    Because I have just recently learned of your vision loss, I am still trying to come to terms with your loss, and at the same time, so inspired by your courage. We could all do some “sorting “in our lives, wether it be in our closets, garages, basements, or fabric stash. I am very happy to hear that you are keeping a box of your favorite fabrics 🙂 and that you found a quilt top…….and what is up with those scraps we tend to keep…short of making a quilt out of 4 inch squares I can’t imagine what I would do with some of them !

    Please know that you are in my daily thoughts and prayers.

    • Thanks, Becky. Yup, there is lots of sorting to be done in many areas of my home! Hopefully, once I get the fabrics and craft supplies in order, I can move on to other areas. It’s hard to believe how quickly we accumulate “stuff.” I am really fine about the vision loss – it is little more than an inconvenience most of the time. Thank you for your thoughts and prayers. They really help on days when things are difficult. Hopefully we will see each other someday soon.

Leave a Reply

