Winnie The Pooh

I like to use quotes to update my Facebook status.  Inspirational quotes, scripture quotes, funny quotes, song lyrics, and quotes from favorite books are all fodder for my “clever” status updates.  What I find interesting is the reaction that I receive from some quotes.  Most of the time, a quote will get no reaction, or one or two people will “like” it.  Whenever I put up a quote from Winnie the Pooh, however, I get a lot of “likes” and people make comments like crazy.

What is it about Winnie the Pooh that people respond to?  I think it is his optimism, his pluck, his childlike spirit.  He’s like all of us, struggling to make sense of the world.  He falls down and picks himself up again.  He is the friend we want to have and be – loyal, fun to be around, helpful.  He does not try to hide the fact that he loves to eat.  He is both loving and lovable.  He is the child inside of us that can not be eliminated by the cares and problems of the adult world.

Once, when our son was little, he was telling us which Pooh character represented each person in the family.  I assumed he would tell me that I was Winnie the Pooh.  I was unbelievably sad when he announced that I was Eeyore.  Eeyore!  The melancholy, nothing ever goes right, down on the world donkey represented me to my son.  My husband (who was told he was Owl) tried to console me, but  I felt horrible..

It’s funny how much significance a child’s off-hand comment can have.  I have thought of that moment many times since.  I do not want to be Eeyore.  Looking back, I can understand why he chose Eeyore to represent me.  I was not an optimist, but always thought that the worst was going to happen.  I saw the glass as half-empty.  I realized that I do not want to be Eeyore and I have been working, ever since that day, to identify and empower my inner Winnie the Pooh.  I want to be Winnie the Pooh.  Maybe other people want to be Winnie the Pooh, too.  Maybe that’s why quotes from Winnie the Pooh resonate with people.  What do you think?  Which Hundred Acre Wood character do you think best represents you?  Do you want to be Pooh?

I will end with one of my favorite Winnie the Pooh quotes.  Christopher Robin gives Pooh words that are important for everyone –

Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.

2 thoughts on “Winnie The Pooh

    • Maybe we need an Eeyore Society, where we help each other see the glass as half-full. Except, no one would want to be a member, because we don’t like being Eeyore. lol

Leave a Reply

