Spirit Of Power

One thought conditioner that has really changed my life is number eleven:

For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. —2 Timothy 1: 7

I used to be a person who was full of fears and worries and anxieties.  I really let my fears occupy a big part of each day.  I agonized over each decision I made, certain that something terrible would happen if I made the wrong choice.

When John and I read through the Thought Conditioner booklet, this passage seemed like it held a lot of promise.  As I repeated it to myself, I loved the way it sounded.  God has not given us a spirit of fear.  It began to make me see that my anxieties were, for the most part, needless and were a waste of my energy.  The spirit of fear that I was living with did not come from God.  I started thinking about all the times that Jesus told people not to be afraid, and I decided that I did not want to live with all these fears and anxieties.

I didn’t know how to go about getting rid of my fears, so I turned to the second part of the scripture, “but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  I thought that these three things must hold the answer to eliminating my fears and anxieties.  When I felt afraid, I would tell myself that God has given me a spirit of power. I would imagine God’s power and love overcoming and eliminating the thing I feared.  In prayer, I would ask God to strengthen power in me and I would focus on feeling the power growing inside me.  I also prayed for a sound mind, a mind that was not filled with anxieties, but was filled with the peace that Jesus offered.  I continue to bring this scripture to mind whenever I feel fearful about something.

In the movie Francesco, there is a point where St. Francis is talking to one of his friends and he says “I have hardly any fear any more.”  I began to pray that I would have the faith of St. Francis, a faith strong enough to allow “hardly any fear” into my life.

Slowly, slowly, I have been conquering my fears.  I still have my moments, but for the most part I am able to live in the present moment and not worry about the future.  Even facing the uncertainty of my vision, I do not feel very much fear.  I feel love – the love of God and the love of my family – surrounding me.  I feel a sound mind – a mind that can tackle each obstacle when it approaches – inside me.  And I feel power – the power of a strong faith – protecting me.  This thought conditioner has become part of my reality.  God has not given me a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

6 thoughts on “Spirit Of Power

  1. Thank you for your wise words and discussion of your thought processes concerning FEARS.
    It has helped me see things more clearly and the passages are of much help…..
    Please continue to relay how you are coming into
    a more peaceful place in your life, it is most helpful
    to me….. will continue to lift you and yours in my prayers.

    • I’m so glad to hear that you find my writing helpful. Writing this post helped me to see that I really have grown in my ability to stop fears from controlling my life. Thank you for your comment and for your prayers.

  2. Your last paragraph really helped me deal with the uncertainty of my own situation. Pulling back into the present moment has helped me a lot.

    • My grandma always used to say “Let tomorrow take care of itself. Today has enough troubles of its own.” She was a wise woman and I am always better off when I take this advice and focus on the reality of today instead of imagining what might happen (but probably won’t happen) tomorrow. Thank you for commenting.

Leave a Reply

