We Are Gonna Be Friends

Here in Rochester, the weather has definitely felt appropriate for the back to school season.  Cool days and downright chilly nights are perfect for putting me in a back to school frame of mind.

fall is here, hear the yell
back to school, ring the bell
brand new shoes, walking blues
climb the fence, book and pens
I can tell that we are gonna be friends

The White Stripes have a great back-to -school song.  I thought I would share it today.  Some of the lyrics are scattered through this post and the video can be found here:

I am happy that I still get to experience the ebb and flow of the school calendar, including back to school excitement each fall.  I have one son in college and one in high school, but they are not really the source of my connection with back to school feelings.  Instead, it is because I work on a college campus that I am in sync with a student schedule.

walk with me, suzy lee
through the park, by the tree
we will rest upon the ground
and look at all the bugs we’ve found
then safely walk to school
without a sound

Part of the fun of back to school was the excitement of making new friends.  Before I went to Kindergarden, I had two best friends.  We lived on the same block in a small town.  With Susie and Mike by my side, I felt strong and brave.  We were always together and we made new friends easily.  I wish I could make friends now as easily as I made friends then.  Somehow, as an adult, I can’t go up to someone at the grocery store and say “You’re nice.  Let’s be friends” without seeming like a weirdo.  It takes longer and there are more steps to making friends as an adult.

and we don’t notice any time pass
we don’t notice anything
we sit side by side in every class
teacher thinks that i sound funny
but she likes the way you sing

Here is where the song gets bittersweet for me.  Where has the time gone?  It seems like the time has flown by.  I was going to Kindergarden, then I had children going to Kindergarden.  Now, I only have one child left in high school.  When we were in Kindergarden, Susie and Mike and I had no idea how quickly we would transform into grownups, or how quickly we would lose track of each other.

tonight i’ll dream while i’m in bed
when silly thoughts go through my head
about the bugs and alphabet
and when i wake tomorrow i’ll bet
that you and i will walk together again
cause i can tell that we
are going to be friends

The end of the song makes me think of the friends that I have now.  I am very blessed to have friends that I know will walk with me through the years.  And, each September, I have the opportunity to meet new students through my job at Nazareth College.  I have lost touch with Susie and Mike, and with all the friends from my childhood.  All I have left of them is happy memories.  But, as each school year begins, I meet students that I “can tell” are going to be my friends.  They enter my office and my life, and over time we become friends.  Many of them leave in May to go back to their parents and their homes.  But each fall brings them back to the college.  Old friends and new each fall.  It is no wonder that I love fall and that I love my job.

(We’re Going To Be Friends Lyrics by The White Stripes are the property of the respective authors, artists and labels, We’re Going To Be Friends Lyrics by The White Stripes are provided for educational purposes only , If you like the song, please buy a White Stripes CD.)

Leave a Reply

