Blessed Exceeding Abundantly

As I was thinking about the post that I wrote yesterday, I realized that John and I have fulfilled so many of the dreams of how we wanted to live our lives.  We have met and made friends with people from many different backgrounds.  John and I each work at jobs that promote understanding and peace-building among people from varied backgrounds.  Reflecting on this made me realize that God answered the desires of our hearts super-abundantly.  It brought to mind one of Dr. Norman Vincent Peale’s Thought Conditioners:

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us. —Ephesians 3:20

God, who loves us so very much, is able to give us blessings that exceed our wildest hopes and dreams.  John and I believed that we were being called to move to the city and we followed that call.  God responded with blessings that were “exceeding abundant.”

The same thing happened with my vision problems.  I trusted that divine mercy would bring grace to the situation and the blessings that have been poured onto me have been exceedingly abundant.  I prayed that God would bring good from my vision loss, but I could not have dreamed that I would be writing a blog that would actually help other people facing similar problems, or that I would find a hugely supportive group of people to help me on my journey, or that I would learn that photography would open up a whole new world to me.  These blessings far exceed anything I could have asked for or dreamed.

I think that “the power that works in us” is the power of hope, the power of faith, the power of grace.  All this power helps us to look beyond where we are and allows us to begin accepting the blessings that God has in store for us.  Blessings often come in very strange disguises, and it is up to us to allow “the power that works in us” to see through that disguise and find the blessing that God is offering.

My own perspective is very limited and I can rarely see the big picture.  Many times I do not know how to pray, what to ask for, what I need.  I try not to jump to conclusions about what is good news and what is bad news.  I know that God can use something that looks like bad news as a means to facilitate grace.  I do not always have the power to change a situation.  My power is, instead, to find the good, find the blessing, find the grace within the situation. That opens me up to accepting what God wants to do for me, which is to bless me “exceeding abundantly.”

2 thoughts on “Blessed Exceeding Abundantly

Leave a Reply

