Beloved

A very wise friend once told me “You are the beloved child of God.”  He looked straight at me and asked “Do you believe that?”  The question made me squirm.  Of course, I believe it, in theory.  But did I really believe it?  Did I really accept the fact that God loved me as a unique and wonderful and beloved child?  My friend asked a follow up question.  “I wonder,” he asked, “if we really believed we were beloved children of God, would it change the way we see the world?  Would it change the way we act?”

On many days, I don’t believe in myself.  I look for grace and beauty in the world, but I don’t see them in myself.  Believing that I am a beloved child of God changes the way I see myself.  It’s like believing the old saying “God does not make junk.”  God loves me.  I am good.  God has plans for me.  I need to believe in God’s love and my belovedness, or I will miss the blessings God has to offer me.

I believe that I am a beloved child of God.  When I allow this belief to sink in to me and become part of me, it changes my perspective.  When I come from a place of love, it is easier to see God’s hand at work everywhere in the world.  I am more accepting of myself and that radiates out of me into an acceptance and love of the people I come into contact with.  I am beloved and so is everyone I come into contact with.  That affects the way I see and treat everyone I meet.  When I have incorporated God’s love into myself and believe in myself, that love can pour out of me onto the people I come into contact with.

One thought on “Beloved

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beloved « Losing Vision Gaining Insight -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

