Chocolate Eclair Cake

Today I was on a mission.  I wanted to cross one particular item off my List of 50 Things and it was #8 Bake Something Extravagant.  I decided to make a recipe that an old friend, Mary Watches, gave me over a decade ago – Chocolate Eclair Cake.  She served it at her house and I loved it, so she gave me the recipe.  I have held on to it all this time, hoping to make it sometime – and today was the day.  I purchased all the ingredients earlier in the week, so I was prepared to make it today.  Mary had said that it was an easy recipe, but I remember it looking (and tasting) fabulous.

First, I made the “cake.”

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease a 9×13″pan and set aside.

Whisk 4 eggs in a small bowl and set aside.

In 2 quart saucepan, melt 1/2 cut butter in 1 cup water.  Add 1 cup flour and cook, stirring constantly, until mixture forms a ball.  Remove from heat and add eggs all at once, beating until smooth.

Spread in prepared pan and bake 35 – 40 minutes.  Allow to cool completely.

Then the filling.

Combine 8-oz package cream cheese (softened) and 4 cups milk, beating until smooth.  Add 3 packages of vanilla pudding mix, one package at a time, beating constantly.  Spoon over cooled shell.

Next, cover the whole thing with a container (8 oz) of whipped topping.

And finally, chocolate topping.  Combine 3 tablespoons of cocoa with 1 cup confectioners sugar.  Pour 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon melted butter and 2 tablespoons water over mixture and beat until smooth.

Drizzle the chocolate topping over the whipped cream.  Chill at least 1 hour.

It really was very easy.  And, oh, my goodness, it looked so good.  Every time anyone in my family opened the refrigerator, they would exclaim over how wonderful the dessert looked.  We could hardly wait to give it a try.

Finally, it was time to cut into the gorgeous cake. Everyone tasted and the verdict is…delicious.  Mmmmm.  Chewy and gooey and smooth and sweet.  This is definitely the tastiest item on my List!

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Eclair Cake

  1. Wow! It sounds delicious!! I will definetly give this a try…when I have a house full..otherwise I will be eating way too much of it 🙂 Glad you were able to check off another item on your list!

Leave a Reply

