No Crying In Baseball

It’s a long story, but today when I was walking on the treadmill in the workout room at Nazareth, I started crying.  I was having a little pity party for myself, because the weights are so hard and I’m not seeing any progress and I had a stressful day and I was tired and I just wanted to go home to my family.  So, I felt the tears coming.

For some reason, a scene from the movie A League of Their Own popped into my head.  I thought of Tom Hanks saying, “There’s no crying in baseball!”

After I thought of that line, I had to smile.  I told myself “There’s no crying on the treadmill.  There’s no crying in working out.”  My whole attitude changed.  I straightened up and finished my time on the treadmill.  Then I went and did my weight training.  It was hard, I’m not going to say it wasn’t.  I really did not enjoy it.  But, I got through it.  I completed all my reps on every machine.  Hooray!

There’s no crying in baseball.  There’s no crying in working out.  I’m going to use this line whenever I feel sorry for myself.  Just because something is harder than I expected or not as much fun as I think it should be or disappointing or scary, that does not mean that I have to fall apart or turn to negative thinking or cry.

There is no crying in baseball.  What did Tom Hanks’ character hope to accomplish?  He did not want to make the player cry.  He did not want her to give up.  He was not trying to be mean.  He wanted her to get better.  He wanted her to redouble her efforts.  He wanted her to be strong.  Is that what my “hardships” can do for me?  Facing fears can make me braver.  Struggling through disappointments can teach me to redouble my efforts.  Completing this weight training course can make me stronger.  Finding the grace along my path to low vision can make me a more positive person.  There is no crying.  There is only growth.  There is only overcoming obstacles.  There is only becoming the best me I can possibly be.

Leave a Reply

