Just A Perfect Day

Today was a good day.  Nothing special happened, but the weather was beautiful.  I went for a walk around campus at lunchtime.  I had a nice conversation with one of my student workers this afternoon.  My workout went well and John made a wonderful dinner.  Then we went out with friends for a birthday celebration.  I started the day with a foundation of happiness.  Each piece of the day built on that foundation and the day kept getting better and better.  As we were driving home from the birthday party, I thought “Today was a perfect day.”  That reminded me of a song that I love and I decided to share it in today’s post.

Sometimes, just spending time with the people that I love makes a day special.  I am very blessed to have a good support system of family and friends.

Oh, it’s such a perfect day
I’m glad I spend it with you
Oh, such a perfect day
You just keep me hanging on
You just keep me hanging on

More and more, I am realizing that it is important to rejoice in every blessing – glorious weather, good friends, a great husband, health, work that I love.  If I am able to look at all the blessings that I have and see a perfect day, then I truly have good vision.  Even if my eyesight deteriorates, it is this type of vision that is important to me.  I want to share two quotes by Helen Keller

“The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision.”

“The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart.”

No matter what happens with my eyesight, I want to have vision.  I want to see the best and most beautiful things in the world with my heart.  I want to always recognize a perfect day.

Leave a Reply

