A Cold Arrives

Sometimes, I feel like I am Super Woman.  I work hard, meet the needs of my family, write a daily blog, write a weekly blog, keep up with social media, spend time with my husband, do my share of household tasks.  I do all these things while transitioning toward living with low vision.  I stay positive and find grace and beauty everywhere and in everyone.  I am Super Woman.

Then I get a cold.

I am such a baby.  I whine and complain.  I just want to crawl into bed and sleep and sleep.  The simplest tasks seem overwhelming.  I can’t find anything good to say about anything.

I don’t understand it.  I am a woman who can deal with almost anything that comes my way, including deteriorating vision, with a smile on my face and a song in my heart.  Why does something as small as a cold get me down?  I know it will be over soon.  I know it is not serious.  And yet, I carry on as if I am weighed down by a heavy burden.

The last couple of days, I have felt it coming.  The scratchy throat, the stuffy nose, the body aches.  I have been telling myself that I am NOT going to get sick.  Last night, I had the sense that there was a freight train bearing down on me, and that this cold was coming no matter what.  This morning, it has arrived.  I have the full host of cold symptons and I feel just awful.  I told everyone in my family that I am sick.  I want to make sure everyone feels good and sorry for me.

This is the opposite of my attitude toward my deteriorating vision.  If anyone expresses being sorry for me about that, I dismiss it.  My vision loss is nothing that requires sympathy.  This cold is another story.  As I sit here at work, sipping my tea and blowing my nose, I would like everyone’s sympathy.  I am being a complete brat and I don’t even feel bad about it.

Maybe it’s because I know that it will end soon that I feel free to give in to feeling rotten.  I don’t try to rise above it or make the best of it.  I just want to go to bed and have my family take care of me.  So much for my positive attitude.  It is nowhere to be found.  Today, I am not Super Woman.  I have a cold.

7 thoughts on “A Cold Arrives

  1. Never mind! Take an antihistamine it’ll clear your head and make you feel like (a tired) superwoman again….you will get well soon that’s the great thing about colds 2-3 days and zoom…back in the saddle although I must admit as I get older they do linger a bit……But I agree with Christy above…I want sympathy when I have a cold too. There was an absolutely great article in the NYTimes online about colds: How Not to Fight Colds By JENNIFER ACKERMAN Published: October 4, 2010. Enjoy and get better soon!
    Ron

    • Actually, a lot of sleep was the medicine I needed. I am feeling better already, although not like a super woman. I should be good to go back to work on Monday, which is good because we have an important event that I have to make sure goes well. Luckily, one more day to rest before then. I will look up the article, it sounds interesting. Thanks for your good wishes.

  2. Healing vibes sent your way kiddo! ((hugs)) And ya know what? I want to be babied too when I dont feel well! I sure hope you get to feel better really soon Belinda!

  3. OOOOOHHHHHH, YOU POOOOOOOORRRRR BABY!!!!!! you shouldn’t even have to type on your own blog page. one of the boys should be doing it. after all you carried them full term and raised them to be the fine men they are today. Your husband should be rubbing your feet and shoulders simultaneously. if your daughter can’t make chicken soup, find one who can but mostly…get well soon! Love, the pegonis

Leave a Reply

