New Opportunity

I hardly know how to begin today’s post.  My whole world has been turned upside down this week – in a wonderful way.  On Monday morning, I was offered a job at ABVI (Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired).  It is a good job.  I am very excited.  And nervous.

Sometimes, you work really hard to accomplish something or get somewhere and nothing pays off.  I have been there.  This situation was almost the opposite.  Everything seemed to move quickly and smoothly.  I didn’t even have much time to feel apprehensive.  I just moved through the process.  It might sound silly if I say that it was as if God was guiding me the whole time.  But I felt calm through the whole process.  I always believed that, whether I was offered the job or not, everything would be great.

I was calm as could be all through the process.  Once I received the job offer, however, I began to feel nervous.  As I said in a post a couple of days ago, change is hard.  Even positive change rocks the boat and shakes things up.  I am safe and secure at Nazareth.  I love my job.  Now, I am running to embrace the unknown.  I am a little nervous.  But I am very excited and happy.  It feels like I was guided to this position.  I think that it will be good for me and I think that I can do some good for the organization.  I feel like I am facing a new beginning, a new opportunity, a new path.  I am excited to take on this new role.  I do not have to be afraid of change.  I am ready to grow.

13 thoughts on “New Opportunity

  1. Congratulations!
    This is such exciting news, I think it’s only natural to feel nervous but this seems like a great opening. God works in mysterious ways…but every now and then God works in ways so forthright that it’s shocking!

    Best of luck to you! I believe that you will bring many wonderful things to the ABVI.

    • Thank you so much. It is very reassuring to think about how smooth the path to this job was – I really feel like it is “meant to be.” Even though I am nervous, I am very excited to get started.

  2. WOW !!! Congratulations!! I am sure this is bittersweet for you, but I can not help but think that this is going to be a blessing. Many of your past blogs deal with your frustrations and fears trying to work while you are living a low vision life style – I can’t help but think working for ABVI will take away some of that frustration and be able to offer you everything you need to be a productive employer. I believe that with no change there is no growth s0- BEST OF LUCK, YOU WILL DO A GREAT JOB!!

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence. I do feel really good about being at ABVI – they ought to be able to help me keep working if anyone can. I am really excited about this change, even though it is a little scary to step out of my comfort zone.

  3. Congratulations, Belinda! What a wonderful opportunity for you. I know you will be a valuable asset to the organization and the people it serves.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Opportunity « Losing Vision Gaining Insight -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

