Saying Good Bye

Today is my last day at Nazareth.  It is hard to believe that I will leave here.  I have grown so much because of working in the Office of Multicultural Affairs.  I have learned what I am capable of accomplishing.  I have learned about working with and motivating college students.  I have learned about racism and the daily fight against it waged by good people everywhere.  I have met wonderful people from all over the country – Sr. Helen Prejean, Tom DeWolf, Carolivia Herron, Vivian Gussin Paley, and even David Garrow from England.

Today, I am wondering why I am leaving a job I enjoy so much.  The reasons have gone right out of my mind as I face the thought of saying goodbye to the people I have worked with for the past three years.  I never imagined that my student workers would be so sad that I am leaving.  I did not realize that I was making a difference in their lives.  It’s odd to hear them tell me how important I have been to them.  I have felt proud and amazed this week as they have talked to me about my role in their lives.  I do love them and they are important to me.  I guess I did not realize that I have also been important to them.  Funny how you touch lives without knowing what a significant role you play.

So, as I prepare for work today, I prepare to say good-bye.  I know that my new job will be wonderful, but today I will focus on the best aspects of working at Nazareth – the people, the atmosphere, the love of learning, the community.  It will be a good day.  The children in our day care center will come to trick-or-treat.  My student workers will come by to have some treats and say farewell.  I will pack up the things that have accumulated on my desk – photos, mementos, books.  And I will leave this part of my life behind.  It has been a wonderful chapter of my life and I count it among my blessings.

8 thoughts on “Saying Good Bye

  1. I imagine your interior experience is much like that of an autumn day; a mixed bag! My thoughts are with you today. Love, Sheri

  2. Belinda,
    May this day be filled with blessings for you as you move into the next chapter of your life. Will be thinking about you today! much love

Leave a Reply

