Third Day And All Is Well

I am posting today after my longest absence from my blog ever – three days.  I last posted on Sunday evening, when I was very nervous about starting my new job.  Now, here I am, three days of work behind me.  I am beginning to feel a little bit settled and so, of course, I wanted to post about what has been happening.

I rode the bus the first day with my mobility trainer, Kasey.  He helped me with some tips about safety.  We rode downtown and then walked from the bus stop to ABVI.  He helped me find safe places to cross and showed me a pedestrian bridge that I didn’t know existed.  It’s really not a bad walk.  The day at work went by in a whirlwind.  I met so many people and learned so much about ABVI-Goodwill. Everyone was very nice, but it was all a bit overwhelming.  I kept having the strangest feeling of incompetence.  It was like I didn’t know how to do the simplest things – answer the phone, log onto my computer, open mail.  I was glad to see the end of the day.  Kasey walked back to the bus stop with me and we rode to my stop.  It was a big relief to have someone to ride with, someone to show me little ways to make riding the bus and walking more safe.

When I arrived home, I was so tired.  I went to bed right after dinner, and fell asleep immediately.  My second day, there was an early meeting, so Sam drove me to work.  Like the first day, it passed quickly and stressfully, but I was feeling more confident by the end of the day.  A brisk walk to a different bus stop, and Kasey and I agreed I would be okay riding the bus home alone.  I went home, ate dinner, and fell fast asleep until I woke up this morning.

Today at work, things started to change.  I love my office.  Here is the view that I see outside my window.

I have a great view of downtown Rochester.  The bridge in the foreground is the pedestrian bridge that I walk to and from work each day.  Here is a different angle showing the bridge.

I love my walk to and from work.  I love the fact that I ride the bus.  I feel so good about that aspect of this new job.

Today, I started to feel like I knew what I was doing.  The strangeness is wearing off.  My new boss is great.  Everyone is super nice.  Everyone really believes in the mission of ABVI-Goodwill.

To prepare and empower people who are blind or visually impaired to be self-sufficient and contribute to their families and communities.

Everything at ABVI-Goodwill is all about this mission.  In just a few days, the mission has been mentioned to me several times.  It’s a wonderful feeling to be part of an organization that is so committed to such a great mission.  I feel like I am part of something really, really good.  It’s a wonderful feeling.

6 thoughts on “Third Day And All Is Well

  1. congrats on the new job and the ability to keep your independence! when we as adults have to make major changes in job, transportation, etc. it gives us a glimpse of what kids go through sometimes every year at the start of the school year. stay strong, be good and have fun. Peace

    • Jim, you are right. Poor Benjamin figured the buses out without a “mobility trainer” riding along with him. I feel really good about taking the bus, and now I have “bus stories” of my own to share at dinner – just like Benjamin does. Thank you for commenting.

  2. I am so glad to hear how things are going! I am struck by your courage to ‘start over’ and do completely new things! That’s not easy. At Unity, I was transferred to 3 different programs in less than 3 years, so I was having sympathy flashbacks when you talked about learning a new phone system, learning new computers, learning so many new names… argh! But, it also sounds really exciting and inspiring to be there! It’s a lot and good for you to allow yourself to get the rest you need as you transition!
    Still sending prayers your way!
    Love, Sheri

    • Thanks, Sheri, for the prayers. Things are going really, really well. Today, I had to figure out so many new things, but I was able to get almost everything finished by the end of the day. i am learning so much. My coworkers are very helpful and my boss is very patient. So far, so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

