First Week New Job

I made it through my first week of work at my new job.  Hooray!  I am already starting to feel a sense of belonging in my new office.  I have a basic daily routine that I follow.  It’s amazing to me what a difference a week can make.  Last weekend, I was so nervous and worried.  Now, the nervousness is gone and I feel happy.

I did have some problems – mostly with my trips to and from work.  One dark morning, I tripped over a garbage bag someone had left in the middle of the sidewalk.  One rainy day, I grabbed Emily’s cute umbrella and used it.  On the way home, unfortunately, the wind grabbed it and turned it inside out.  Now I have to buy myself an umbrella and replace Emily’s umbrella.  I found that carrying a purse while walking and riding the bus was bulky and uncomfortable.  So, this week I am going to try carrying a messenger bag instead.  It’s really important, now that my vision is reduced, that I do everything possible to make my travels safe.  If I am worrying about anything – even something as simple as my purse sliding off my shoulder, it increases the potential that I will miss-step and get hurt.

Once I arrive at work, I have very few problems caused by my vision.  I have software installed on my computer (MAGic, an enlarger) that has given me trouble all week.  The IT people have been in, to work on it so many times, but no luck figuring out what is causing the problem.  I know they will get to the bottom of it eventually.  I have the loveliest, largest monitor I have ever seen in my life, so that helps make using the computer much easier on my eyes.  My phone has a screen with caller ID that I cannot read at all, but that doesn’t matter to me, since I just answer the phone anyway, no matter who is calling.

I have trouble recognizing people, but, luckily, most people announce themselves as they enter my office.  “Hi, it’s Lisa.”  That is the kind of thing that makes me so happy about working at ABVI-Goodwill.  It is an environment where everyone is used to the fact that some workers are visually impaired.  I’m not the oddball.  I don’t have to ask people to let me know who they are.  I don’t have to try to guess who I am talking to.  It’s a little thing that really makes a big difference to me.

At the end of my first week, I am very happy with my job change.  I miss my previous boss a lot.  We were a great team.  I miss my student workers so much.  Working with college students made my last job a joy every day.  But, I like my new boss.  From what I have seen this week, I admire her greatly.  I like the people who work around me.  They are so helpful and go out of their way to be friendly.  I love working in an environment where there are people working around me using canes and guide dogs.  It really helps me to believe that, no matter what happens with my eyesight, I will find tools that will help me to adapt and continue to be independent.  My employment future seems really bright now.

9 thoughts on “First Week New Job

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention First Week New Job « Losing Vision Gaining Insight -- Topsy.com

  2. I am so happy for you; it really sounds like you have found the perfect place to work 🙂 You will have to keep a special jar of doggie biscuits for all those wonderful guide dogs!

    • It takes all my self-control not to ask if I can pet the guide dogs. I have to keep reminding myself that they are there to work, not as pets. I do feel like this is the perfect place for me to be working. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

