Empowered To Work

I just completed my third week of work at ABVI-Goodwill.  I love my new job.  I continue to be amazed at how often employees mention our mission.  Our work really is all about our mission.  The mission of our agency is

To prepare and empower people who are blind or visually impaired to be self-sufficient and contribute to their families and communities.

Sometimes, when I think about this mission, I believe that I am the mission of ABVI-Goodwill.  When my vision began to deteriorate, I did not know what would happen to me.  How would I be able to continue to work?  How could I lead a meaningful life?  I felt like I didn’t fit in anywhere – I was not blind but I really could not see.  I could not picture my future.  I was afraid, but I embraced the journey to low vision.  I fully believed that God would take care of me, that grace would sustain me, that I would find blessings if I looked hard enough.

My faith was turned into concrete reality through the work of the vision rehab staff at ABVI.  I really began to understand that vision loss did not have to be the end of my life or the end of my independence or the end of my career.  I began to believe in myself.  In a strange way, I became more self-assured than I had ever been before.  I began to see possibilities for myself.  When an opportunity for employment at ABVI-Goodwill came along, I applied, interviewed, and was offered the job.

ABVI-Goodwill is fulfilling its mission in my life.

To prepare and empower people who are blind or visually impaired to be self-sufficient and contribute to their families and communities.

The staff at ABVI prepared me by teaching me about assistive technology and low vision aids and giving me mobility training and vision rehabilitation.  They empowered me by helping me to believe in myself and my abilities.  I learned ways to continue to be independent and self-sufficient.  When I saw people who were blind and visually impaired working there, in all kinds of positions, I knew that I would be able to keep working, even as my vision deteriorated.  ABVI-Goodwill put their words into action by hiring me, allowing me to contribute to my family‘s financial well-being.  And, I feel like I am part of this great mission.  I want to help others in the community – blind and sighted – to reach their full potential.

I feel so blessed.  I have found ABVI-Goodwill.  Here is an organization dedicated to helping people like me become our best selves.  Here is an organization that believes that I can be a valuable asset, even though I am losing my eyesight.  Here is an organization whose mission I can embrace, an organization whose mission I can live out.  I have found a place where I fit in.  I have found a place where I can do meaningful work.  ABVI-Goodwill has done great things in my life and I am eager to repay this by helping ABVI-Goodwill to fulfill our mission in other people’s lives.

Leave a Reply

