Moving Forward

Sometimes I have nights when I have a hard time sleeping.  As I try to fall asleep, I replay in my mind all of the mistakes I have made and the foolish things I have done and the hurtful things I have said.  If I let this go on, the memories can make me feel so bad about myself.  Instead of letting this “movie” play on in my mind, I can stop it by thinking of this thought conditioner:

This one thing I do, forgetting those things, which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. —Philippians 3:13-14

It’s so important for me to remember not to allow past mistakes to torment me.    I can learn from my mistakes without dwelling on my failures.  I do not have to let the past become a huge burden that weighs me down.  Instead, this verse helps me to leave the past behind and move forward.    When negative memories surface, I can imagine myself dropping each one into the trash.  Then, I can replace each embarrassing memory with a positive thought about the future.  This helps me move beyond my mistakes and reach forward to become the best person I can become.

I don’t want to become stuck in bad habits and unhealthy mistakes.  I want to allow God to work in me to help me develop good habits and become more loving.  I find that this verse encourages me to break free from my own self-doubts and fears.  Grace can work in my life in ways more wonderful than I could ever imagine.  I just have to free myself from my own self-limitations and allow God to help me move beyond my past mistakes.  God has a high calling for me and I want to live up to that calling.  I want to become my best self.

4 thoughts on “Moving Forward

    • I was thankful to read your comment. After I wrote this post, I started to wonder if anyone else even does this, if anyone would know what I was talking about. We can both work on putting the past behind and moving into a beautiful future. Peace.

    • Hi Thelma. It was really cold when I went to work this morning, but not so bad on the way home. We are not into winter quite yet. I am thankful for every day that winter holds off. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

