One Month

Exactly one month.  That’s how long it took me to feel at home in my new job.  I started my new job on November 1 and really, really struggled every day to figure out what I was doing.  I could not seem to figure out my phone or my computer system or where anyone’s office was located or what the process was for anything I wanted to accomplish.  I felt sad and scared and stupid.  I really began to believe that I might not be able to figure this new organization out.  Everyone was very nice, answering question after question and showing me how to do things, but I started to hate asking for help.  For one month, exactly.

Somehow, December 1 marked a huge change for me.  I still have a lot to learn.  I still have computer issues.  I still have to ask a lot of questions.  But, somehow, something inside me has changed.  I feel like I belong, like I fit in.  I am starting to develop some really good friendships.  I am starting to see my role in fulfilling the mission.  I am falling in love with the organization.  I am falling in love with my job.

Part of the change is just the fact that I am growing more comfortable with my role.  I am starting to develop a daily routine and know where to go to find out the answers to my many questions.  It just took a little time to get used to my new surroundings and new systems.  Everything is done a little bit differently than it was at my old job.  It took me a little time to let go of the old ways of doing things and embrace the way we do things at my new job.

Part of the change has come from seeing that everyone at ABVI-Goodwill has a team mentality.  It really seems like we are all working together to fulfill our mission.  If I am the team member that needs help, everyone else is willing to pitch in and help me.  It was hard for me to understand that this was real, in the beginning.  It was hard to accept that no one minded giving me a hand or answering my questions.  It was hard for me to let go of my fear that I was bothering people and reach out, but once I did I began to see that these wonderful co-workers don’t mind at all.  In fact, the more I reach out to them, the more friendly they are in their responses.  Accepting that I am part of a team has taken me a month, but now I believe it and I love the fact that I have all these wonderful people to turn to.  I know that, once I am accustomed to my job, I will gladly help and answer questions for others.

I am so happy that my awkward first month is behind me.  I know I have a lot to learn about how to perform tasks, but I have already learned important lessons about teamwork and values and mission.  I have learned that my own personal values are aligned with the values of ABVI-Goodwill.  I have learned that I fit in with this organization.  Everything else that I need to learn somehow seems less significant than that.

2 thoughts on “One Month

Leave a Reply

