Blind Photography Block

I haven’t written on the subject of Blind Photography in a while.  My attempts at Blind Photography seem to have come to a grinding halt.  I was doing well.  My photos seemed to be improving.  I was having fun.  I thought about printing a few of my favorite photos to use on cards or to frame and display.  I even had the idea that I could open a little Etsy shop of photo cards.

Then, somehow, I fell out of the habit of taking pictures.  I feel sad about this and I would like to take steps to get back to enjoying photography.  Several factors seem to have contributed to stopping.  First, I can’t seem to figure out whether pictures are in focus.  I think a photo looks great, then when I go back and look at it again later, I notice that it is fuzzy.  I don’t know whether my eyesight is playing tricks on me or if my photos are really not sharply focused.  This has made me feel a little bit discouraged.  Second, there is so little light.  Most of the daylight hours are spent at work, so I don’t have much time to take photos.  I know this is just an excuse, because I have not gone out looking for photos on the weekend, either.  Third, I just plain haven’t liked my last few photos.  I feel like they are not well-composed.  I have lost confidence, somehow.  Maybe I have the photography equivalent of “writer’s block.”  I want so badly to take really good photos, but I am starting to doubt my ability to learn to do that.

I know that there are “blind” photographers out there who take great photos.  There are photographers with a lot lower vision than I have who win photography awards and are good enough that people want to purchase their photos.  Perhaps some of them will have some words of wisdom for me.  I would like to blame my problem on needing a better camera, better software, a better computer.  But I think, really, the problem is a lack of experience and knowledge.  I do not have a problem that can be solved by a quick fix of spending money on new equipment.  It is going to take a commitment of time and energy if I want to learn to be a really good low-vision photographer.  I need to get back to my own number one rule – Take my camera everywhere and take photos at every opportunity.  I think that is the way I am going to get over this “photographer’s block” and improve.

9 thoughts on “Blind Photography Block

  1. That’s not exactly what i meant, because, as an artist, “fun” is perhaps not the first thing that’s on your mind, while working. But I do feel, that there are photos that are letting themselves made by you, it’s not you, as a photographer, who is “making” the photos. If you let go of self judgement, there are simply more photos that will allow themselves to be made through you. I realize it sounds a bit zen-like, but that’s how it is, at least for me, being an artist who uses a camera to make art. I don’t know if the end result may be fun, but it can at least be happiness. /smiles

    • I think I get it. Let myself get into the flow of taking photos, instead of agonizing over whether each shot is worth taking. I see the zen of it. I guess I used the wrong word to call the flow “fun,” but I do find it a lot more pleasant to actually end up with some photos at the end of the day. Plus, I guess I don’t believe in myself enough to think of myself as an artist, just a very beginning photographer.

  2. I agree with the last comment and I’m sure we’ve all had dry periods, but it’s not fatal!

    I try to have a camera with me at all times, and there’s no harm in taking more or less random pictures of what you’re doing during the day, even if they don’t at the time seem like great subjects. I’ll bet that some of these photos will be some you won’t want to be without.

    Sometimes what you might call “faults” in a picture can make it interesting, whether they’re faults in technique or faults with the camera. I’ve had blurred photos that convey to me a wonderful sense of movement, and I’ve pointed the camera much too near the sun, which might spoil the photo I wanted to take, but give me another one that’s an interesting piece of art.

    • Thanks for reminding me that this dry period will come to an end. I have to get used to having my camera right at hand all the time, like I did for a while. You never know when a great opportunity will present itself. Lately, I just have not found anything worthwhile in the shots I have taken and I was feeling discouraged. I will try again. Thanks.

  3. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Photography « The Blind Buzz

  4. I’d say, what you are experiencing has nothing to do with blind photography per se, but with the art part of it. i.e. being an artist. But one thing i do pick up from your post is an enormous sense of self-judgement regarding your work. For instance, why not photograph at night. Why not admit blur to your photos? If you can let go of judging your work by the yardstick of “what proper photos look like” perhaps you would allow yourself more freedom in shooting. When you let go, relax and focus on the flow of time, something valuable will always present itself in the frame.

    • You are right, of course. I would be better off letting go of my ideas of the “perfect picture” and enjoying the fun of photography. Thank you for your comment and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

