A Light Has Shone

We had a lovely Christmas day.  My heart is full of love for my family and friends.  On Christmas Eve, several friends dropped off plates of cookies.  How nice!  One of the plates was made by a little boy, Josh, who lives on our street.  When we first met Josh, he was a tiny, fragile, terribly sick baby.  He was the smallest surviving baby ever born at Strong Hospital.  He was the foster child of Sr. Jean, who cares for medically fragile foster children. Eventually, Sr. Jean’s sister, Beth, moved in with her and, after a time, adopted Josh.  We have watched Josh grow and overcome his medical problems and outgrow his developmental delays.  He LOVES our dogs.  He is a wonderful boy and, this year, he asked his Mom if he could bake us cookies.  Josh has been such a blessing to us, and such a sign of the healing power of love.

We went to midnight Mass and it was absolutely beautiful.  We chose a 10pm Mass, which made more sense to us, this year, than the traditional Midnight starting time.  I love the Isaiah reading from midnight Mass.  The beginning always gives me goosebumps:

The people who walked in darkness
have seen a great light;
upon those who dwelt in the land of gloom
a light has shone.

The homily was great and included a lovely story that really touched me.  The music was absolutely gorgeous.  We came home and finished up a few things and then went to bed, with visions of sugarplums dancing in our heads.

Christmas morning started early, almost as early as when our kids were little.  Sam is dog-sitting and house-sitting, so he came home right after he had done his doggie chores in the morning.  Everyone was so very pleasant and kind to each other all day.  Including me, which was a nice change since I was a little grumpy in the days leading up to Christmas Eve.

I made a delicious breakfast treat (Baked French Toast) that a woman had brought to work on Thursday.  It was easy and there was hardly any measuring, so I didn’t even need any help.  We spent a lot of time sitting together and talking.  It felt like precious time to me.  I keep thinking that we don’t know where our children’s dreams will take them over the next few years, so I try to treasure every moment we are together.

We rounded out the day with a traditional Turkey dinner.  We don’t usually have turkey on Christmas, but decided to this year.  As sometimes happens, the turkey took a lot longer than expected, so we sat around eating appetizers until it was ready.  More special time together.

All in all, it was a great day.  Today is a quiet day to pause and think about all the blessings we have been given this year.  There have been so many and I am very grateful.  I feel like, this past year, Isaiah’s words have come true for me.  I was one who “dwelt in the land of gloom,” and now a light has shone upon me and I am changed forever.  Alleluia.

6 thoughts on “A Light Has Shone

  1. Thanks, again for your wise words. You help many of us put things in the proper perspective. Many blessings to you in the upcoming year.

  2. I love reading your blog Belinda….they always leave me with things to think about in regards to my life…thank you for sharing. Merry Christmas to you, John, Emily, Sam, and Ben 🙂

    • Thank you Becky. I hope you don’t think I am a stalker, but I looked at your Christmas pictures and your tree was so beautiful. I remember that you always made your home so friendly and comfortable and special. Take care and God bless you.

Leave a Reply

