Dreaming

A brand new day.  A brand new year.  A blank calendar.  A clean slate.  The world feels full of possibilities.

I said that I was not going to make any New Years Resolutions until the Christmas season is over, and I am sticking to that.  I had a sense that I had something, or a lot of things, to learn.  I somehow knew that I was not going to be ready to make “Resolutions” by midnight on December 31.

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post for my other blog at the Catholic Courier.  I was remembering a “Dreaming Session” that our family had one time.  We had decided that we were going to take our children out of school and homeschool them.  We wanted everyone to have a say about what our new life was going to look like, so we held this dreaming kind of brainstorming session.  It was wonderful.

Ever since I wrote about that Dreaming Session, I have been feeling dissatisfied.  That session was many years ago and we never held another one.  Until recently, really until I wrote my list of 50 things I wanted to do before my next birthday, I think I had stopped dreaming.  Maybe it was the drudgery of bills and laundry and daily life, maybe it was fear, maybe it was laziness.  Whatever the reason, I wasn’t dreaming and it affected me and my family.  My list was my way of re-learning to dream, and that dreaming enlivened me.  It has also enlivened John and our kids as they have joined me in crossing items off my list.  Still, it was my dreaming and we have been working on my goals.   Though they happily went along for the ride, I realize that it did not help them remember to dream.  I have noticed lately that my children, while at a place in their lives where they are poised to take the next step, don’t seem to be able to articulate what they hope for, where they want to go, what their dreams are.  Or else I have not been listening to them closely enough.  So, since writing that post, I have had this gnawing feeling that something needed to be done.  I kept asking myself the question, “What do my loved ones need in order to enliven them and give them inspiration for their future?”

My boss loaned me the book Dream Manager about a month ago.  Reading books is no longer easy for me, but I certainly did not want to tell her that, so I took it home and set it aside.  I picked it up yesterday, glanced at it, and saw that it was a fairly easy read.  The type wasn’t too small and there were not too many words on each page.  So, yesterday, I settled in with good reading glasses, good lighting, and a cup of coffee and started to read.

Before I finished the first chapter, I knew I held the answer to my question.  This amazing little book has a powerful message.  It is written for businesses, but also touches on family life.  I did not put the book down until I had finished it.  I am so excited to use these principles in this new year.  I have not quite figured out how it is all going to look or fall into place, but I feel so strongly that this book will set the tone for me for 2011.  This is going to be a year of dreaming, and of helping other people dream, and of making dreams come true.

5 thoughts on “Dreaming

  1. Reminds me of a number of years ago, when a Christmas present was a daily calendar from “Think and Be Rich”, by Norman Vincent Peale. There were so many nuggets of wisdom in there that helped me through a very tough year at work. I think in both our cases, that He was looking over us and giving us what we needed.

  2. A wonderful blog to start the new year! Thank you Belinda you are such a gifted writer. It never ceases to amaze me!
    Thelma

    • Oh, thank you so much, Thelma, for your kind words. I’m sorry you had trouble posting your comment and I am glad that it finally went through. Thank you for your perseverance. Peace, Belinda

Leave a Reply

