Running Toward Grace

Here is a thought conditioner that has really helped me, because it changed the way I think:

The thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me. —Job 3:25

All my life, I was a pessimist.  In each situation, I anticipated that the worst would happen.  I would plan for catastrophe, just in case.  I think this was some way of protecting myself – I would be prepared if disaster struck.

When I read this thought conditioner, I realized that my lifelong negative thinking had not been helpful.  Instead of preparing and protecting me, it had made me set myself up for failure.  By expecting the worst, I often took steps that brought my negative thoughts into reality.  My fears became a sort of self-fulfilling prophecy.

This thought conditioner helped me to understand the negative effects of my fearful thinking.  As I began to memorize this scripture, I began to believe the words I was learning and started to change my pessimistic thinking.  I began to imagine positive outcomes to situations, instead of dwelling on negative potential.  I stopped praying that disaster would not happen, and started to pray that blessings would.

It has taken me a long, long time to break the habit of expecting the worst, of fearful thinking.  I still occasionally struggle with this.  But, for the most part, I now expect good outcomes to almost every situation.  Where I formerly expected to fail, I now expect to succeed.  Where I used to see darkness, I now see light.  Where I feared the unknown, I now embrace the unexpected.  Amazingly, I now actually experience more positive outcomes.  I can feel my creative juices flowing now that I am not living in fear.

Instead of dwelling on the things that I fear, I keep looking for grace and blessing in every situation.  I rely on my faith and trust in God.  I feel as if I am attracting positive energy by expecting positive outcomes.  Instead of running away and hiding from the things I fear, I am running toward the glorious future that I now expect to encounter.

4 thoughts on “Running Toward Grace

Leave a Reply

