Nothing Is Impossible

There is something very different about the organization that I am working for.  I have thought about it a lot and decided that I have never experienced anything like it anywhere else.  In my entire life.  It seems to me that this organization is unique.

The strange thing about ABVI-Goodwill, where I work, is that minds are open to possibilities.  Suggestions are honored.  Ideas are considered.  Innovations are implemented.  This year, the agency celebrates its 100th birthday, and it is alive and vibrant.  The words I have heard at every other job seem to have been banished from this agency.  You know the words:

That will never work.

We tried that before and it failed.

Management would never go for that.

That will cost too much…take too much effort…take too much energy.

That’s not the way we do things here.

I have never heard any of these words at this organization.  Instead, I hear words of affirmation, words of exploration, words of encouragement,  There is really an atmosphere of potential, an attitude of possibility.  This attitude gave me hope back when I was a client struggling to find my way on this low vision journey. I can feel this attitude permeating the agency where I now work every day.

How did this agency develop this attitude?  I think that maybe it comes from 100 years of empowering people who are blind and visually impaired, 100 years of helping people find hope, 100 years of telling people that nothing is impossible, 100 years of giving people tools that allow them to be independent, 100 years of being part of seeing miracles happen in people’s lives.  I think that you can’t be part of all that for 100 years and not be open to possibility.

Working in an agency that is willing to consider new opportunities makes me evaluate my own willingness to be open to new ideas in my life.  I realize that I could adopt a more flexible attitude in all parts of my life, that I could be more willing to adapt to new situations.  I am learning a lot about myself.  I am stretching and growing.  I am beginning to believe in possibilities.  I am starting to eliminate negative, imagination-blocking words from my vocabulary.  Now, when I find myself thinking of a new way to approach a situation in my life, I try to be like the people at my job.  I no longer immediately tell myself that a new approach won’t work and reject any new ideas.  Instead, I tell myself that new ideas are interesting and worth considering.  I find myself finding creative solutions to problems.  I am excited to take a new look at old habits.

ABVI empowered me, when I was a client, to be open to new possibilities.  Now, as an employee, I feel ABVI empowering me to open my mind and be creative in my approach to problem solving at work and in all aspects of my life.  I am encouraged to learn and grow.  I am really starting to believe that nothing is impossible.

 

12 thoughts on “Nothing Is Impossible

  1. Belinda,

    Great post. From your description, it sounds like the management really and truly puts their customers first.

    Thanks for sharing

  2. I have been praying that the Lord would do just that in my life…empower me through His spirit, to “eliminate those negative, imagination-blocking words from my vocabulary”. Words carry so much power…life and death. What a wonderful gift to be working where there is life!!

    • Thank you for your comment. Yes, I am very blessed to work for such a wonderful agency. I am happy to know that you are also working on eliminating those “imagination-blocking words. Good luck to you and God bless!

  3. Wow Belinda! What a wonderful testimonial to our agency. I couldn’t help but feel a strong sense of pride as I read your story. Maybe this is the one that should go in the employee newsletter, better yet, we should do MLK for Feb and this one for March! It is a pleasure to work with someone like you, and I am thrilled that you are so enjoying your experience. I, like you, have never had the level of engagement that I feel at our agency. Here’s to a bright and hopeful future! See the possibilities!

    • Rosemarie, I somehow missed responding to this comment. Sorry about that. Yes, it is wonderful to work for such a wonderful agency. I feel certain that I am going to grow and learn. You should feel very proud for being part of the leadership that has created such a great atmosphere. Thank you for helping me see the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

