Thank You, Cheshire Cat

There is a conversation in Alice in Wonderland that I really like.  Alice is talking to the Cheshire Cat. Alice says

`Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’
`That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
`I don’t much care where–‘ said Alice.
`Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.

It seems to me that I have spent too much of my life like Alice, wandering around without knowing or caring where I am going to end up.  I walk a long way and work really hard, but without a destination point in mind, without a focus, I never reach a goal.  At various points in my life, this aimlessness has bothered me.  I want to accomplish something with my life, but without knowing what that something is, I just make half-hearted attempts in several directions.

In a way, this lack of direction is comforting because it is easy.

`–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,’ Alice added as an explanation.
`Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, `if you only walk long enough.'”

I can take some comfort from the Cheshire Cat’s wisdom.  No matter which direction I travel, I will get somewhere if I walk long enough.  Still, I have come to a point in my life where I have a need to chart my course, name my direction, make a choice.  I am no longer satisfied with aimlessness.  I am no longer content to just wander.  I want to pick a destination and do my best to get there.

I think this is why I find the idea of dreaming so exciting.  My List of 50 Things I want to do before my birthday prepared me for dreaming and opened my mind to possibilities.  I am ready to take the next step suggested by Matthew Kelly (Dream Manager).  I am going to list 100 dreams that I have for my future.  As he suggests, some will be simple and some will be extravagant.  Some will be achievable and some will be impossible.  Once I have written them down, I will be able to set some goals and start working toward making one or two of my dream come true.  I will have a direction.  Unlike Alice, I will care where I am going.  I will not be heading toward a nameless somewhere.  Instead, I will know that I am walking toward a future full of dreams come true.

8 thoughts on “Thank You, Cheshire Cat

  1. I love this quote, and was actually thinking about it the other day!!
    Or should I say lamnenting, because I too, was feeling a lot like Alice!
    Thanks for a wonderfully insightful post,
    and giving me a great idea!!
    Peace to you , John & the family! 🙂

    • Hi Liz! I used this quote with youth group every year as we were deciding what we wanted our goals to be. I find a lot of wisdom in this little conversation. Thank you for commenting. I will say hi to everyone for you.

  2. Excellent piece. I took too long in my life to learn the way of the Cheshire Cat. Now, I find myself longing to do the things I can no longer do because of physical infirmaties. Oh, how I wish I had listened to the cat when I was young.

Leave a Reply

