Dream A Little Dream With Me

A few weeks ago, I read the book Dream Manager by Matthew Kelly.  I loved it.  Even though the book is mainly written from a business viewpoint, I saw amazing implications for my family.  I could see that John and I and our three children would benefit from allowing ourselves to dream and to articulate our dreams.  Since I read it, I have been talking about dreaming and asking questions about what everyone’s dreams are.  I knew I wanted to do something concrete to free everyone in my family to dream, to encourage each person to put more thought and energy into dreaming.

A week or so ago, I went to a store and found some blank books.  They were very plain and simple – 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 inch books with black cardboard covers, spiral bindings, and pages and pages of blank paper.  I purchased five, one for each of person in our family.  I wanted to give some direction without being too bossy, so I wrote a little paragraph and printed it out on five stickers. I put one sticker in the front of each book.  The wording is very encouraging (if i do say so myself) and the directions are fairly open, so each of us can use our book the way that best suits us.

I was so excited to give everyone a dream book.  I really see the value in opening our minds and imagining possibilities and dreaming.  I think that writing down our dreams is a powerful way of beginning the journey to make them come true.  Somehow, the act of articulating a dream brings it into the realm of possibility.  As I handed a dream book to each person in my family, it seemed like I was handing them something priceless.  They seemed to understand how important the books were to me, even if they don’t yet believe that the books will be valuable to them.  I challenged them to try to write down 100 dreams within the next few days.  I told them that I was going to be asking them about their dreams and that I am really interested in hearing about them.

Two of my children have come to me to ask for a little clarification and explanation about the dream book.  One wanted some ideas and examples of dreams.  I read him the examples from Matthew Kelly’s book.  Another just wondered what this is all about.  John and I encouraged him to  free himself – to allow himself to brainstorm and to dream big and dream small.  All three of our children told us today that they have started writing in their dream books.

I am so thrilled about this process.  As I begin to write down my dreams, I can feel barriers breaking down inside myself.  I feel myself allowing hopes and dreams to come into my mind.  I am starting to believe that I can make some of my dreams come true.  Dreams that I didn’t even know were in my heart now seem like real possibilities.  When I imagine my husband and children having some of these same thoughts and feelings, I am really happy for them.  I hope that this experience of dreaming will help them to know that they are wonderful and can accomplish amazing things in their lives.  I don’t know what their dreams are.  I don’t even know what all of my dreams are.  I do know that the future is bright for all of us.  The bigger we dream, the more beautiful the world looks.

2 thoughts on “Dream A Little Dream With Me

  1. I love the idea of a dream book. Ever since learning about this as a method of goal setting, I’ve been a big fan of the idea of writing down goals and dreams to help people focus. When I work with visually impaired students, trying to figure what their abilities are and how they are hampered by their visual disability, I always encourage them to dream big. That’s my two-word mantra. I encourage them, and others dealing with adjustment to vision loss to not place false limitations on themselves. Don’t sit there and say, “I can’t do this because of my vision loss, blindness, or whatever. Dream big and figure out the best way to make this dream a reality.

    One of the first questions I had after awakening from the two-month coma that left me blind was “Do blind people dream?” I asked it of the hospital volunteer who was my saving grace in the initial adjustment phase in the hospital. She said “Of course we do,” and went on to explain the types of dreams she might have. I’ve come to realize that we don’t need to be asleep to dream, and blind people definitely do dream!

    Thanks for a great concept. You’ve given me an idea of an on-going project to do with my 8-year old son. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences, thoughts, and reactions to life. You have a gift and I appreciate you sharing it with us.

    • Thank you so much for the nice comment. Thanks for sharing your story. Please let me know how your adventure with dreaming goes. How wonderful to encourage your 8 year old to dream big! I really appreciate your kind words.

Leave a Reply

