Spring Awakening

The winter blues were getting me down.  I needed an infusion of spring.  Luckily, I read about an exhibit at the George Eastman House.  Apparently, George Eastman was a huge fan of dutch spring flowers – tulips, daffodils, hyacinth.  He brought hundreds of bulbs over and had them forced in his greenhouse and filled his house with these beautiful flowers in the middle of winter.  His house is now a museum and the staff continue the tradition of bringing this bit of springtime into the house for everyone to enjoy.

Since I have been craving the sights and smells of spring, we decided that we would visit today.  John, Sam and I headed over to the museum this afternoon.  When we arrived, the parking lot was packed.  We had to wait for someone to leave before we could park.  There was a line going out the door for admission.  Several times, I said that we should just forget it.  I imagined that it was going to be too crowded in the house for us to enjoy the visit.  We continued on our quest for spring, however, and I am so glad that we did.

As we entered the first large room, the smell of flowers was almost overpowering.  Thousands of pots of flowering plants were everywhere.  Pinks and yellow and reds were a riot of color.  The sight was absolutely gorgeous.


It’s hard to do justice to the sight of all those flowers.  They were just everywhere and filled up my senses with the essence of spring.

The overall effect was really wonderful and a bit overwhelming.  It was crowded with people, all hungry for this oasis of spring in the middle of Rochester winter.  Luckily, it was not so crowded that we could not get up close to the flowers and see and smell their beauty for as long as we wanted.

If the overall impression of the house full of flowers was a little overwhelming, adjusting our focus to each individual flower was a remedy.  Each flower was so beautiful, so perfect.

It was great to get my camera out again and try to take some photos.  As always, my focus was off on a lot of the results, but I did get a couple of pictures that I really like.

I learned a lesson about not giving up on an idea.  I was ready to turn around and go home when I saw how crowded the parking lot was, and again when I saw the line at the entrance.  I am so glad that Sam and John didn’t listen to me, but insisted that we go in and see the flowers.

If you are suffering from the winter blues, I recommend finding someplace that showcases spring flowers.  In Rochester, we have the George Eastman House and also the Lamberton Conservatory.  I am sure that most cities have a public greenhouse where people can fill their spirits with green and life.

This morning, one of my friends sent me this quote:

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where Nature may heal and cheer and give strength to body and soul.”  John Muir

I think that this quote sums up the experience of visiting the George Eastman House today.  After spending time among the flowers, I do feel healed and cheered and full of strength in my body and soul.  I am so thankful that the George Eastman House continues its tradition of filling the museum with flowers for all to enjoy.  We need beauty as well as bread.  Especially in the middle of winter.

6 thoughts on “Spring Awakening

  1. What a great post! I’m so ready for winter to be done and spring to take its place. I’m sick and tired of the snow and winter blues. Glad you were able to get a bit of spring.

    • Thanks, Alexis. I am so very sick of winter. At least we had a little bit warmer weather the last couple of days. Hang in there, we will get through the next few weeks and it will be SPRING!

  2. I loved this blog and the pictures. I, too, am suffering from the winter blues! Here in Eastern Ontario the snow keeps falling and the wind keeps blowing. However, the weather man on TV last night said only 5 weekends left until spring. The count down begins!

Leave a Reply

